PDA

View Full Version : Language? English!

meruna
10-14-2011, 02:40 AM
Hello,

the German translation of Dota2 is horrible.
Can you please add an option to switch it back to English? We all played Dota1 in English and German just sounds soooo stupid.

Thank you.

DarkSuo
10-14-2011, 04:02 AM
Change Steam language to English and you should be set. I've already suggested a In-Game option to it.

PandaSucks
10-14-2011, 04:39 AM
Other games have this option if you go to properties, and then under the language tab. I think they will add that for dota2 too. No need for an ingame option.

ggPeti
10-14-2011, 04:50 AM
Can you please elaborate on what you found stupid in German DotA? Because I'm a translator myself (not German, I'm asking only out of curiosity), and I'd like to take this chance to understand emotions towards localization better. What was it that disturbed you? Bad quality? New terms for things you always used in English? Anything else? What would you suggest to make translations better?

eNTe_eXe
10-14-2011, 05:01 AM
I am not even gonna look at the German version. Would make me cry.

neXXus
10-14-2011, 05:03 AM
I think the translation itself is ok, it just always feels a bit weird when you're used to the English terms and status lines. I think I will also switch to English, but not because the translation is bad.

PandaSucks
10-14-2011, 05:04 AM
Can you please elaborate on what you found stupid in German DotA? Because I'm a translator myself (not German, I'm asking only out of curiosity), and I'd like to take this chance to understand emotions towards localization better. What was it that disturbed you? Bad quality? New terms for things you always used in English? Anything else? What would you suggest to make translations better?