Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5
Results 41 to 50 of 50

Thread: VSync without increased latency

  1. #41
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5
    guys, if i got it right, it is usefull only if i have refresh rate >60, yes? So, if my monitor maintain only 60 Hz, it is useless, right?

  2. #42
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by BolZen View Post
    Hey Guys, any new informations???? After playing a while whit r_experimental_lag_limiter 1 on ist ok but not perfect??? is there anything planed to fix that?
    DX9: If you are below 60fps, don't bother with vsync. This won't change that. But if you are over monitor framerate, please enable it, since its 1 frame less delay.

    DX11: DX11 vsync isn't a eyesore. Just enable it, there is no downside, at all.

  3. #43
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2
    anyone know why fps has drop after latest update?
    before update, my fps stable @ 59-60 with vsync activated, after installed latest update, my fps drop @ 30-40 fps with vsync activated.
    any idea how to fix this problem?

    Note : i played with DX11

  4. #44
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    95
    I've noticed a bug/limitation with the lag limiter:

    1. start game with experimental lag limiter
    2. increase monitor refresh rate
    3. lag limiter still targets old refresh rate until dota 2 restart.

    I also re-ran a experimental vsync test after the latest performance update.
    note that I'm heavily CPU limited before and now

    result:

    now:



    before update:



    no change other than a slight variation in performance demand between tests.

  5. #45
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    10
    ist only usefull when you have more then 60 fps and your Monitor have 60 hz. then you have to enable it!

  6. #46
    It really makes my game stuttery. Removed some lag from vsynch though. If it can get improved itll be perfect

  7. #47
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    26
    Do you have to input the command every time you open the game or is it "on" until you turn it "off" ?

  8. #48
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    17
    This really helped. Without vsync I experienced a lot of tearing. Vsync was not playable because I move the cam with the middle mouse button and the delay makes it feel unnatural. With this option it is the best of those two. I get to play without tearing and without delay. Thanks a lot!

  9. #49
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Posts
    4
    I can confirm that the experimental lag limiter works on my machine, so much so that i'd like to see it added to the UI. It comes close to the responsive experience provided by the now defunct Virtu MVP. My congratulations to the developer(s). Is there a way to enable it at launch via a configuration file?

  10. #50
    Basic Member aveyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    EU West
    Posts
    2,728
    Quote Originally Posted by Assiduous View Post
    I can confirm that the experimental lag limiter works on my machine, so much so that i'd like to see it added to the UI. It comes close to the responsive experience provided by the now defunct Virtu MVP. My congratulations to the developer(s). Is there a way to enable it at launch via a configuration file?
    Sure. But it should be remembered after entering it in the console anyway.
    Either add it to a \steamapps\common\dota 2 beta\game\dota\cfg\autoexec.cfg file, or add it as a launch option like this: +r_experimental_lag_limiter 1

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •