Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Editing Dota 2 Resolution

  1. #1
    Basic Member Quiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    681

    Editing Dota 2 Resolution

    I would like to edit my resolution.
    No, not via the options that change the resolution in game, but rather using the Registry Editor. I'm finding that since I have graphical limitations I've been going back and forth between many resolutions, but can't seem to hit the sweet spot. I've done this with Warcraft III (since it doesn't have my computer's resolution), so I assume that it will work.

    Two questions then:
    Is it possible?
    And if so, how can I do it?

  2. #2
    Valve Developer Zoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,060
    You can specify the resolution using the launch options. Right click Dota 2 and add -w <width> and -h <height> to the launch options, where width and height are the resolution you wish. For example, I use "-w 1920 -h 1200" on my laptop.

  3. #3
    Basic Member Quiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    681
    Mmm, I tried that but it reverts to the nearest "default" resolution.
    I put in "-w 800 -h 500" into the console but it put it back to 800x600.

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator slowreflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,065
    It's also stored in your video.txt file:

    "setting.defaultres" "1680"
    "setting.defaultresheight" "1050"
    Last edited by slowreflex; 02-05-2012 at 08:47 AM.
    Please read Common Discussions, Common Suggestions, Common Technical Issues, Common Bugs, and do a website search prior to making any new thread.
    Use the report () button to report flaming, illegal discussions, offensive content, excessive spam, trolling, advertising, or duplicate threads

  5. #5
    Basic Member Quiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    681
    How can I access that file?

  6. #6
    it's video.txt in my case, and it's located here: (C:\Program Files\)Steam\steamapps\common\dota 2 beta\dota\cfg

  7. #7
    Volunteer Moderator slowreflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,065
    Quote Originally Posted by JagdPanther69 View Post
    it's video.txt in my case, and it's located here: (C:\Program Files\)Steam\steamapps\common\dota 2 beta\dota\cfg
    You're right, it's video.txt.
    Please read Common Discussions, Common Suggestions, Common Technical Issues, Common Bugs, and do a website search prior to making any new thread.
    Use the report () button to report flaming, illegal discussions, offensive content, excessive spam, trolling, advertising, or duplicate threads

  8. #8
    Basic Member Quiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    681
    Doesn't seem to work.

    My default resolution says 800x600 if you're curious. I tried changing it to the settings I wanted (800x540) but to no avail.

  9. #9
    Volunteer Moderator slowreflex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    3,065
    I'm not sure if 800x540 is a valid resolution for the game. I see 800x600 in my choices, but not 800x540.
    Please read Common Discussions, Common Suggestions, Common Technical Issues, Common Bugs, and do a website search prior to making any new thread.
    Use the report () button to report flaming, illegal discussions, offensive content, excessive spam, trolling, advertising, or duplicate threads

  10. #10
    Basic Member Quiesce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    681
    So it's a question of validity?
    I feel like it's impossible to change the resolution to something other than the ones you can change to ingame.
    Hrm..

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •