Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Stuck on "Connecting to Dota 2 network..."

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4

    Stuck on "Connecting to Dota 2 network..."

    So, I got DotA2 beta key out of Stage142 LANs I was, or am, part of. First I encountered a problem where my Dota2 just crashed after loading screen instantly. After searching for fixes, I found one and managed actually launch the game. During last 10 hours I've been trying, more and less, to find a fix for another problem:

    I launch my DotA2, I get to lobby screen, it says forever "Connecting to Dota 2 network..." I am talking about over 20 minutes time, so I'd like to have some help with this issue. I asked local staff and they hadn't seen anything like this.

    Heres what I've tried already:
    Restart Steam
    Validate Cache. Edit: Seems to say always exact same message: 4 files failed to validate and will be reacquired. (When?)
    Install latest Video Card Drivers
    Update Steam
    Restart Steam
    Restart PC
    Change ingame graphics
    Launching it from D:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\dota 2 beta, never expected this to work tough since it even shouldnt connect(?).
    Disable Firewall
    Disable Antivir
    About ports: there are 150 other people who can play DotA in LAN so I suppose ports should be good?

    Probably forgot something here
    & here.


    I dont know if its any help, but I got 10 files which are named like "dota_crash_20120310122854_1" which I suppose are error reports. Are there anything I can do with them?

    Thank You.

    Oh, and just to edit some hardware:
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz (2 CPUs)
    Memory: 4GB 800MHz DDR 2
    Video Card: ATI Radeon 5770 HD
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3
    Last edited by Mauste; 03-10-2012 at 02:21 PM.

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    97
    Hey dude, are you clicking on the game from your desktop or pinned program tab? Open it in steam, Should fix.

  3. #3
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    I've been starting the game randomly from desktop shortcut and from steam library. Never really paid attention to it, but point is, tried them both.

  4. #4
    Basic Member stbash's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    718
    Have you tried oping your ports on your router/firewall for Dota2?

    UDP ports 27015 through 27040
    UDP port 27005

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    Am pretty noob with port forwarding, done it few times, but if I understand right, they should be open since I am in a hall with 150 other people (LAN) and they can play DotA2? I tried completely disabling firewall and Antivir aswell, which should be good enough aswell? Also I added Dota 2 into I-dont-remember-what-list in firewall settings.

    Forgot to add them to list and going to do it now.

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    4
    After I dont know how many hours of searching I got mad and reinstalled steam. Found it actually working... You shall close the thread.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •