Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: No Screen Then Black Screen Then White Screen [NOT SOLVED]

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7

    No Screen Then Black Screen Then White Screen [SOLVED]

    When I start Dota 2 the application icon displays in the windows bar but nothing appears on
    screen. After a few seconds a black screen comes up and nothing occurs, no video or audio.
    After clicking or pressing a key Windows prompts me to either wait for the program to respond
    or to shut it down. I have verified the game files and have re-installed. Attempted using a single
    display, double display, SLI enabled, SLI disabled. Checked the resolution set in the cfg folder.

    I was using the nVidia beta drivers (301 series) and was successfully playing Dota 2 yesterday.
    Thinking this may have been an issue I've reverted to the 295 WHQL drivers. Below are my
    system specs.

    CPU: i7930@2.8
    Mobo: Rampage III Extreme
    GPU: 2x ASUS ENGTX480
    Memory: 12GB Corsair Dominator-GT
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120GB
    HDD: WD 1TB CB

    EDIT:

    The following link is a clip showing exactly what happens.

    http://youtu.be/HqX8xDUH6RI
    Last edited by DGVictus; 04-16-2012 at 12:44 AM.

  2. #2
    Basic Member alexcamgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    242
    Good video. Explains the problem really well.

    Have you tried deleting the video.cfg file in the steam directory?
    Computer: Macbook Pro 13'
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate Media Center Edition & Mac OSX Lion
    Video Adapter: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2108 MB)

    DOTA 2 Crash Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=29735
    Mac Support Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=58152

  3. #3
    Basic Member alexcamgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    242
    When installing Nvidia drivers. Be sure do a clean install, Nvidia doesnt tend to fully delete all files - Link here http://www.overclock.net/t/1150443/h...s#post15432476
    Computer: Macbook Pro 13'
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate Media Center Edition & Mac OSX Lion
    Video Adapter: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2108 MB)

    DOTA 2 Crash Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=29735
    Mac Support Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=58152

  4. #4
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    Attempted both. Nothing worked.

    I've just realized I did a Windows 7 update between the last time I could play Dota 2
    and cannot. This update also extends my boot up time nearly 7-10 seconds even
    after OCing my CPU to compensate. I believe a reformat and re-install of everything
    will do the trick. Will check back in after doing so.

  5. #5
    Basic Member Evol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    623
    Also try solutions specified here: http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=29735

  6. #6
    Basic Member alexcamgeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    242
    Quote Originally Posted by DGVictus View Post
    Attempted both. Nothing worked.

    I've just realized I did a Windows 7 update between the last time I could play Dota 2
    and cannot. This update also extends my boot up time nearly 7-10 seconds even
    after OCing my CPU to compensate. I believe a reformat and re-install of everything
    will do the trick. Will check back in after doing so.
    why not just roll back?
    Computer: Macbook Pro 13'
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate Media Center Edition & Mac OSX Lion
    Video Adapter: Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000 (2108 MB)

    DOTA 2 Crash Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=29735
    Mac Support Thread http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=58152

  7. #7
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by alexcamgeek View Post
    why not just roll back?
    Don't have any though I remember not even a few months ago contemplating a roll back and having multiple spots to choose from.

    @ Evol - I will check those out.

    I did a complete Steam uninstall and now I get black screen overlay but no audio of the game. Alt + Tab leaves the black screen but my mouse registers what's in the background ( Had Facebook up and was able to click on links ).

    EDIT:

    @ Evol - Either I can't do any of those because I can't get into the game, or they don't work.
    Last edited by DGVictus; 04-13-2012 at 09:26 AM.

  8. #8
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    7
    Fixed.

    Solution: Install Windows 8 Consumer Preview. lol

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •