Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: crashing to desktop (after every few updates)

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47

    Arrow crashing to desktop (after every few updates)

    every few updates...
    game just breaks....


    black screen -> crash to desktop no error or anything
    (no vid gives me red loading screen)

    ( -windowed -w 1920 -h 1080 -noborder -novid --nod3d9ex )
    these start up options got it working once around some updates ago...
    but now this wont work AGAIN...

    any new fixes out???

    1) i can run other valve source games (left4dead/portal etc...)
    2) i reinstalled - steam - dota 2 - windows 7 and 8 with
    3) updated drivers... using nvdia website and using DriverPack Solution.
    4) verified game cache..


    so 100% not a problem on my end.
    game updates are breaking it for me..
    460gtx i7 920 6gb of ram

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    123
    Similar issue. Game just freezes and forces into desktop. I can alt-tab fine but alt-tabbing to the game gives me black screen sometimes or just nothing at other times. Only way to break it is to terminate process from within task manager.

  3. #3
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by OJay77 View Post
    Similar issue. Game just freezes and forces into desktop. I can alt-tab fine but alt-tabbing to the game gives me black screen sometimes or just nothing at other times. Only way to break it is to terminate process from within task manager.
    -windowed -w 1920 -h 1080 -noborder -novid -nod3d9ex
    (replace 1920 and 1080 with your screen resolution)
    try this as launch options..
    this fixxed shit for me long ago...

    broken right now tho..

  4. #4
    Basic Member IAmStaka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    297
    game crashes too much rly..

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    any fixes ?

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    14
    Kind of comforting to know I'm not the only one suffering from this issue. You guys care to share your specifications? I'm also experiencing the same issues with Darksiders.

    MB: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
    CPU: Intel i3-3220k
    GPU: XFX Radeon HD 7750 (running 13.1 drivers)
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
    PSU: Corsair 650W
    OS: Windows 7 x64

    Edit: Found this on Steam/SteamApps/common/dota 2 beta/debug.log http://pastebin.com/vaUTkAM9, I'm assuming the first two numbers are dates and in the end of the file I have my errors logged, since it happened yesterday a lot of times.
    Last edited by klaus; 04-04-2013 at 02:57 PM.

  7. #7
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    Quote Originally Posted by klaus View Post
    Kind of comforting to know I'm not the only one suffering from this issue. You guys care to share your specifications? I'm also experiencing the same issues with Darksiders.

    MB: AsRock Z77 Extreme4
    CPU: Intel i3-3220k
    GPU: XFX Radeon HD 7750 (running 13.1 drivers)
    RAM: Corsair Vengeance 2x4GB
    PSU: Corsair 650W
    OS: Windows 7 x64

    Edit: Found this on Steam/SteamApps/common/dota 2 beta/debug.log http://pastebin.com/vaUTkAM9, I'm assuming the first two numbers are dates and in the end of the file I have my errors logged, since it happened yesterday a lot of times.
    460gtx ---- 314.22 (latest drivers)
    i7 920 cpu in asus p90 mobo
    6gb ram
    windows 8 x64



    still broken was hopeing game would update today and would fix..
    but meh..
    shit still broken

  8. #8
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    14
    I guess at least with Dota my issue is fixed, haven't had a crash since yesterday. I flashed the latest version of my BIOS, didn't change anything with Darksiders, then I uninstalled my Realtek audio drivers. I guess that fixed it for me? I don't know, it's too soon to tell.

    Quote Originally Posted by gourav2122 View Post
    460gtx ---- 314.22 (latest drivers)
    Could you check your debug.log file?

  9. #9
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    47
    [0402/220307:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0402/221722:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0402/230927:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0403/120135:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0403/124035:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0403/195956:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/141454:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/231817:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/232907:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/233102:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/233344:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0404/234205:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0405/000232:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0405/001534:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0405/140641:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0405/160003:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2
    [0405/172808:INFO:dhcp_proxy_script_adapter_fetcher_win. cc(265)] Error fetching PAC URL from DHCP: 2

    was in steam folder
    not dota2 folder
    so not sure if related..
    cuz dota2 has its own
    *****************_error.mdmp

  10. #10
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by gourav2122 View Post
    was in steam folder
    not dota2 folder
    so not sure if related..
    cuz dota2 has its own
    *****************_error.mdmp
    I guess you checked the wrong file, check the one on this path: Steam/SteamApps/common/dota 2 beta/debug.log

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •