Page 2 of 57 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 52 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 561

Thread: Australia and South Africa Server Support

  1. #11
    Valve Developer Zoid's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,065
    Zirain, it sounds like you are getting a large amount of packet loss which causes the game to reset the connection and request a "full update" from the server. If your connection has very low bandwidth, this full update maybe too large and being dropped, so you end up stuck.

    There are a few suggestions I can make that may help:

    - Are you playing in wireless? Wireless can cause huge drops in packet loss based on load and interference. Try moving to a wired connection if possible.
    - Enable the console in Dota 2 and try setting "rate 20000" in the console. This will tell the server to send its data at a lower rate to you which may reduce the burst traffic that is interfering. The default rate is "80000". You can probably set rate as low as 12000, but I wouldn't recommend that as the game will start choking packets to try to keep the data under the rate cap you set.

    Let me know if either of those changes help you. Also, typing "net_graph 5" into the console and taking a screenshot of the graph shortly after one of these incidents may assist in seeing what is occuring.

  2. #12
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    523
    If you are receiving uncompressed updates from the server then you are not keeping up with the update stream coming from the server. I suspect that the uncompressed updates are making the problem worse. What type of internet connection do you have and how are you connected to your router? It might also be useful to know what make/model of router you have.


    Quote Originally Posted by Zirain View Post
    Im hhaving this issuse when ever i start a game everything loads fine until after ive picked a hero and get into game, then i get what appears to be lag but my ping is normal and I have no packet loss, the game freezes for a couple of secs then semi loads and repeats, Ive gotten put into low prio on both my accounts now because of this, Ive tried restarting dota etc but the problem still occurs, In console im getting this "Receiving uncompressed update from server" over and over again. An idea of whats going on would be great



    C:Gamerules: entering state 'DOTA_GAMERULES_STATE_WAIT_FOR_PLAYERS_TO_LOAD'
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    C:Gamerules: entering state 'DOTA_GAMERULES_STATE_HERO_SELECTION'
    Randoming npc_dota_hero_sniper!
    Randoming npc_dota_hero_enchantress!
    Randoming npc_dota_hero_slark!
    Randoming npc_dota_hero_keeper_of_the_light!
    Randoming npc_dota_hero_vengefulspirit!
    C:Gamerules: entering state 'DOTA_GAMERULES_STATE_PRE_GAME'
    Model heroes/sniper/sniper.mdl over budget: 3451 tris, 6 batches
    Model heroes/pudge/pudge.mdl over budget: 3498 tris, 7 batches
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    UnserializeDMX: Unable to open file "particles\particle_snapshots\furion\furion_cape.p sf"
    UnserializeDMX: Unable to open file "particles\particle_snapshots\furion\furion_cape.p sf"
    ERROR: CParticleSnapshot::Unserialize - could not load file particles\particle_snapshots\furion\furion_cape.ps f!
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    CDOTA_ParticleManager: missing effect index: 4765
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Model heroes/Phantom_lancer/phantom_lancer.mdl over budget: 3010 tris, 7 batches
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server
    Receiving uncompressed update from server

  3. #13
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    5
    Hello. I've been getting pings of about 230ms to Australian servers. It seems my connection is being routed from Singapore to Hong Kong and then to Australia.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms fnet65-f109-access.vqbn.com.sg [202.83.109.65]
    3 2 ms 2 ms 3 ms 202.73.37.254
    4 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms 165.21.19.177
    5 16 ms 4 ms 4 ms 165.21.12.86
    6 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms 165.21.45.94
    7 3 ms 3 ms 4 ms 203.118.7.15
    8 3 ms 4 ms 3 ms an-ats-int10.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.176]
    9 6 ms 5 ms 7 ms 203.116.5.158
    10 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms i-1-2-0.istt-core01.bi.telstraglobal.net [202.84
    .243.113]
    11 55 ms 54 ms 54 ms i-0-1-1-0.pthw-core01.bx.telstraglobal.net [202.
    84.141.9]
    12 225 ms 226 ms 226 ms tengige0-2-0-7.wel-core3.perth.telstra.net [203.
    50.13.225]
    13 216 ms 218 ms 218 ms bundle-ether7.fli-core1.adelaide.telstra.net [20
    3.50.11.18]
    14 219 ms 217 ms 221 ms bundle-ether9.win-core1.melbourne.telstra.net [2
    03.50.11.91]
    15 218 ms 216 ms 222 ms bundle-ether12.ken-core4.sydney.telstra.net [203
    .50.11.12]
    16 223 ms 226 ms 226 ms bundle-ether1.ken39.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6
    .146]
    17 216 ms 216 ms 217 ms high985158.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.72.178]
    18 216 ms 216 ms 216 ms unknown.hwng.net [173.245.208.218]
    19 223 ms 222 ms 223 ms 103-10-125-227.valve.net [103.10.125.227]

    With the SEA-ME-WE-3 cable having been restored, the route could be better optimised going straight to Perth from Singapore. I've been getting a steady 50ms latency to www.iinet.com.au through a more optimised route.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms fnet65-f109-access.vqbn.com.sg [202.83.109.
    3 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 202.73.37.231
    4 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms p4739.sgw.equinix.com [202.79.197.45]
    5 50 ms 50 ms * po0-1-1.cor1.per1.on.ii.net [203.16.211.230
    6 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms xe-0-0-0.cr1.per1.on.ii.net [150.101.33.98]
    7 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms po6-10.per-qv1-bdr2.on.ii.net [150.101.33.9
    8 50 ms 50 ms 51 ms gi5-2.icp-osb-core1.iinet.net.au [203.215.4
    9 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms www.iinet.net.au [203.173.50.151]

    Is there any way for Valve to better optimise the route through Telstra?

  4. #14
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    154
    Tracing route to 103.10.125.1 over a maximum of 20 hops

    1 * * * Request timed out.
    2 84ms 29ms 12ms 110.93.70.33
    3 20ms 39ms 37ms 27.109.64.137
    4 18ms 34ms 57ms 110.93.64.245
    5 68ms 28ms 26ms 110.93.64.126
    6 54ms 39ms 15ms 110.93.64.121
    7 71ms 28ms 28ms 110.93.64.253
    8 42ms 31ms 20ms 122.55.110.237
    9 89ms 47ms 33ms 210.213.135.230
    10 69ms 66ms 32ms 210.213.131.21
    11 75ms 69ms 70ms 134.159.158.45
    12 81ms 62ms 58ms 202.84.154.217
    13 177ms 175ms 180ms 202.84.141.209
    14 208ms 177ms 181ms 203.50.13.141
    15 177ms 179ms 180ms 203.50.6.26
    16 190ms 179ms 204ms 203.50.6.154
    17 236ms 178ms 204ms 203.50.6.182
    18 186ms 187ms 237ms 139.130.72.178
    19 205ms 187ms 205ms 173.245.208.218
    20 190ms 189ms 188ms 103.10.125.1

    Trace complete.
    please can you still optimize connection

  5. #15
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    523
    Unfortunately, I can't control where Telstra decides to peer. There are most likely business reasons why Starhub and Telstra don't peer in Singapore. Since Starhub is one of the major network providers in Singapore they will want to charge Telstra for connectivity to them. Telstra does the same thing for any foreign network wanting to connect to them in Australia. So the cheapest place to connect the 2 networks it outside of their region. Hong Kong is the just the closest point that is "neutral". Unfortunately, routing isn't all about the shortest path, or the highest bandwidth. It is about what is cost effective.

    Quote Originally Posted by unusep View Post
    Hello. I've been getting pings of about 230ms to Australian servers. It seems my connection is being routed from Singapore to Hong Kong and then to Australia.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms fnet65-f109-access.vqbn.com.sg [202.83.109.65]
    3 2 ms 2 ms 3 ms 202.73.37.254
    4 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms 165.21.19.177
    5 16 ms 4 ms 4 ms 165.21.12.86
    6 4 ms 4 ms 4 ms 165.21.45.94
    7 3 ms 3 ms 4 ms 203.118.7.15
    8 3 ms 4 ms 3 ms an-ats-int10.starhub.net.sg [203.118.3.176]
    9 6 ms 5 ms 7 ms 203.116.5.158
    10 5 ms 5 ms 5 ms i-1-2-0.istt-core01.bi.telstraglobal.net [202.84
    .243.113]
    11 55 ms 54 ms 54 ms i-0-1-1-0.pthw-core01.bx.telstraglobal.net [202.
    84.141.9]
    12 225 ms 226 ms 226 ms tengige0-2-0-7.wel-core3.perth.telstra.net [203.
    50.13.225]
    13 216 ms 218 ms 218 ms bundle-ether7.fli-core1.adelaide.telstra.net [20
    3.50.11.18]
    14 219 ms 217 ms 221 ms bundle-ether9.win-core1.melbourne.telstra.net [2
    03.50.11.91]
    15 218 ms 216 ms 222 ms bundle-ether12.ken-core4.sydney.telstra.net [203
    .50.11.12]
    16 223 ms 226 ms 226 ms bundle-ether1.ken39.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6
    .146]
    17 216 ms 216 ms 217 ms high985158.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.72.178]
    18 216 ms 216 ms 216 ms unknown.hwng.net [173.245.208.218]
    19 223 ms 222 ms 223 ms 103-10-125-227.valve.net [103.10.125.227]

    With the SEA-ME-WE-3 cable having been restored, the route could be better optimised going straight to Perth from Singapore. I've been getting a steady 50ms latency to www.iinet.com.au through a more optimised route.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 192.168.0.1
    2 3 ms 2 ms 2 ms fnet65-f109-access.vqbn.com.sg [202.83.109.
    3 2 ms 3 ms 2 ms 202.73.37.231
    4 2 ms 2 ms 2 ms p4739.sgw.equinix.com [202.79.197.45]
    5 50 ms 50 ms * po0-1-1.cor1.per1.on.ii.net [203.16.211.230
    6 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms xe-0-0-0.cr1.per1.on.ii.net [150.101.33.98]
    7 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms po6-10.per-qv1-bdr2.on.ii.net [150.101.33.9
    8 50 ms 50 ms 51 ms gi5-2.icp-osb-core1.iinet.net.au [203.215.4
    9 50 ms 50 ms 50 ms www.iinet.net.au [203.173.50.151]

    Is there any way for Valve to better optimise the route through Telstra?

  6. #16
    Basic Member Netshroud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    166
    In a sense that is a more optimized route. From my machine in Sydney to the second hop in that route (202.83.109.65) it goes directly to Singapore through SingTel Optus, however the latency that way is around 350ms as opposed to your 220ms via Hong Kong.

    :S

  7. #17
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    2
    Anybody have any issues since last update?

  8. #18
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    Sudden drop in a game I just had. Can start up Counter Strike: Source, find an Australian server and BOOM! no problems. Dota 2? Every odd night I get this problem EXCLUSIVELY with Dota 2. It's becoming very frustrating to deal with. One thing I have noted down is that among the people I have seen on this forum or online who are from New Zealand/Australia, a large proportion of them are with Slingshot New Zealand. Mind you, I was in a game with someone from the same ISP and they weren't having this issue, so I am very confused.

    Here's a screenshot of the problem earlier tonight with the console bringing up "Receiving uncompressed update from server":



    Had this problem for ages and one thing has changed as it's no longer coming up with "bone access not allowed" along with details of the hero models in the game. I don't have the copy-paste of the console state from this as I deleted it a month ago.

  9. #19
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    I had this problem again tonight. What information do I need to provide to get some clarification on this issue?

    In-game screen with net_graph 5 up:



    Console at the time (red text was present before lag):



    Did a trace for good measure, but nothing...

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7600]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\BRAD>tracert 103.10.125.83

    Tracing route to 103-10-125-83.valve.net [103.10.125.83]
    over a maximum of 30 hops:

    1 3 ms 1 ms <1 ms 192.168.2.1
    2 10 ms 14 ms 10 ms cpiak1-l9-G-internet.tranzpeer.net [202.180.81.32]
    3 11 ms 13 ms 14 ms 202.180.76.74
    4 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms vlan7-cpcak3-s1.tranzpeer.net [202.180.81.49]
    5 10 ms 11 ms 11 ms vlan4081-cpcak3-r1.tranzpeer.net [101.98.1.145]
    6 13 ms 12 ms 12 ms core2.cpcak3-r2.tranzpeer.net [101.98.2.230]
    7 12 ms 13 ms 15 ms xe-4-0-3-10.cpcak4-r1.tranzpeer.net [101.98.3.97]
    8 11 ms 12 ms 11 ms xe-4-0-2-10.cpcak4-r1.tranzpeer.net [101.98.3.96]
    9 18 ms 17 ms 10 ms ten-0-2-0.bdr01.akl05.akl.VOCUS.net.nz [175.45.102.17]
    10 34 ms 35 ms 34 ms ten-0-7-0-3.cor01.alb01.akl.VOCUS.net.nz [114.31.202.88]
    11 35 ms 35 ms 34 ms ten-0-0-0-2.cor03.syd03.nsw.VOCUS.net.au [114.31.199.116]
    12 34 ms 36 ms 34 ms ten-0-5-0-1.cor01.syd04.nsw.VOCUS.net.au [175.45.72.118]
    13 33 ms 34 ms 34 ms ge-0-0-1.bdr02.syd04.nsw.VOCUS.net.au [175.45.72.80]
    14 37 ms 35 ms 35 ms tengigabitethernet8-4.ult2.sydney.telstra.net [139.130.73.105]
    15 39 ms 39 ms 39 ms tengige0-1-0-2.ken-core4.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.20.1]
    16 42 ms 47 ms 49 ms bundle-ether1.ken39.sydney.telstra.net [203.50.6.146]
    17 35 ms 36 ms 39 ms high985158.lnk.telstra.net [139.130.72.178]
    18 37 ms 37 ms 42 ms unknown.hwng.net [173.245.208.222]
    19 36 ms 37 ms 37 ms 103-10-125-227.valve.net [103.10.125.227]
    20 *

  10. #20
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Wellington, NZ
    Posts
    13
    Mate glad to know im not alone ...
    Since few days back ive been getting sudden disconnects. First I thought it was just my connection but everything else is fine and pingable with good ping rates
    Interestingly enough I'm with Slingshot as well and it appears to be random as you say.

    On the console im seeing "Receiving uncompressed update from server"
    Perhaps they could be throttling because of high packet rates ?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •