Announcement

Collapse

Forum Rules

  • No flaming or derogatory remarks, directly or through insinuation.
  • No discussion, sharing or referencing illegal software such as hacks, keygen, cracks and pirated software.
  • No offensive contents, including but not limited to, racism, gore or pornography.
  • No excessive spam/meme, i.e. copious one liners in a short period of time, typing with all caps or posting meme responses (text/image).
  • No trolling, including but not limited to, flame incitation, user provocation or false information distribution.
  • No link spamming or signature advertisements for content not specific to Dota 2.
  • No Dota 2 key requests, sell, trade etc.
  • You may not create multiple accounts for any purpose, including ban evasion, unless expressly permitted by a moderator.

  • Please search before posting. One thread per issue. Do not create another thread if there is an existing one already.
  • Before posting anything, make sure you check out all sticky threads (e.g., this). Do not create new threads about closed ones.
  • It is extremely important that you post in correct forum section.

  • Balance discussion only in Misc.
  • All art related (such as hero model) feedbacks go to Art Feedback Forum.
  • All matchmaking feedback should go here: Matchmaking Feedback
  • All report/low priority issues should go here: Commend/Report/Ban Feedback
  • No specific workshop item feedback. These should go to workshop page of that item.
  • When posting in non-bugs section (such as this), use [Bugs], [Discussion] or [Suggestion] prefix in your thread name.



In case you object some action by a moderator, please contact him directly through PM and explain your concerns politely. If you are still unable to resolve the issue, contact an administrator. Do not drag these issues in public.



All rules are meant to augment common sense, please use them when not conflicted with aforementioned policies.
See more
See less

[Fixed] Charge of Darkness and immobilizing spells

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • [Fixed] Charge of Darkness and immobilizing spells

    Summary:
    Spirit breaker able to cast charge of darkness and stun targets while immobilized. It works with all(?) immobilizing abilities.

    Repro Steps:
    1) Pick SB and lvlup charge
    2) Cast on him Ensnage (naga, troll or spirit bear) or Frost bite
    3) Cast Charge on any enemy target

    Result:
    SB will stay on same place and target will be stunned after sb "reaches" target. If target was far enough to disable end on SB, he will acting weird (walking around with charge animation and unable to hit anything) and will be unable to cancel charge until it hits target.

    Expected Result:
    Charge goes on CD, SB stays on same place while disabled, nothing happens to target.



    PS. Found another thread about bug here (part "C"), but i decided to create new one with clearer and better description.


    Edit by Buny:
    List of spells which don't fully cancel Charge of Darkness when cast during the disable:
    • Crystal Maiden's Frostbite
    • Naga Siren's Ensnare
    • Meepo's Earthbind
    • Treant Protector's Overgrowth
    • Spirit Bear's Entangling Claws
    • Dark Troll Summoner's Ensnare
    Last edited by bu3ny; 11-30-2013, 08:17 AM. Reason: Added list of spells

  • #2
    This was reported before/already on the list, albeit the original post is fairly confusing as it has another bug mixed in. Anyway common bug list: ['12.07.26] Charge of Darkness stunning the target, while baratrum is nowhere nearby

    Should probably link this thread instead of the other one as it's more informative.

    Comment


    • #3
      agreed, changed the link in the sticky.
      Make sure to read the Forum Rules as well as the stickied Threads of the Forum Section you are posting in.

      Contributions i'd like to highlight:
      My Suggestion: Coaching System
      My Sticky: Intended Changes List
      My Challenge: Completely Fixed Hero Challenge: Skywrath Mage

      Comment


      • #4
        dota2://matchid=113176927&matchtime=1122

        Not fixed. Still an issue.

        EDIT: Watch bot dire rax for the replay

        Comment


        • #5
          I swear I posted in a similar thread... Anyway - IMO charge should be silenced while he is immobilised, it makes no sense for it to work as it does in WC3 where it instantly fails, wasting the skill.
          Comprehensive Damage Reduction & Amplifications Dota 2 Guide

          Comment


          • #6
            Spirit Breaker and Frostbit Interaction

            Spirit breaker using charge of darkness while frozen with frostbite is currently bugged.

            In match 154407339 at 33:20 or so, spirit breaker is chasing crystal maiden. She turns around and frostbites him and runs away. His response is to use charge of darkness. When this happens, Spirit breaker stays still within the frostbite. However, the units around him are stunned as he begins his charge, and CM is stunned after several seconds of running with the sound of SB hitting her. However, he has not moved at this point.

            Reproduce:

            1: Game with CM and SB
            2: CM cast frostbite
            3: SB cast charge of darkness while frozen.

            SB stays still, while CM is charged and stunned by an invisible unit. I don't know what the intended interaction is, whether Charge gets him out of frostbite, or whether he shouldn't be able to charge. However, I don't think it's supposed to be both.

            Comment


            • #7
              Tried this out and it's still not fixed.
              It's bugged with every entangle and ensnare spell. I added a list of them to OP.

              And it's not that the target of charge just gets stunned.The charge almost fully works still when you cast it during an ensnare/entangle.

              -Every unit in the path will get hit by Greater Bash like if Spirit Breaker charged through them.

              -The charge target will get hit by charge stun and Greater Bash like if Spirit Breaker reached the target.

              -Spirit Breaker himself will not be moved by the charge, neither during the ensnare/entangle, nor after it expired.

              -When the ensnare/entangle expires, Spirit Breaker will not be able to move in any direct, BUT towards the charge target (you have to order him to move in direction of the target, else he just doesn't move at all). He has no unobstructed pathing.

              -Spirit Breaker can not perform any attacks and cannot cast Nether Strike during the "charge", until the charge "finishes" (when the target gets stunned and bashed)

              -He can use items, though if it's point/single target item, then the target has to be between Spirit Breaker and the charge target

              -When the charge "finishes", Spirit Breaker gets an attack order on the target, so he will start walking towards it.

              -This whole lasts, until Spirit Breaker would have reach the target with the charge.


              I think that's all. In DotA1, as seen in the video, the charge simply gets instantly canceled and wasted.
              A more elegant solution imo would be to make charge fully getting disabled during ensnares/entangles, like how blinks get fully disabled ("can't cast while rooted").
              Please, just call me buny.

              Comment


              • #8
                On the other hand, if you are good enough you can start casting it while still ensnared so that it gets casted after the ensnare ends.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Shamanics View Post
                  On the other hand, if you are good enough you can start casting it while still ensnared so that it gets casted after the ensnare ends.
                  Well 2 options.

                  Make it like in DotA1, can be used but has no effects -> gets wasted
                  MAke it get disabled like blinks, not like in DotA1 -> no way to get wasted, but can't start casting it right before ensnare ends.
                  Please, just call me buny.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X