Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Very high ping with ubuntu

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4

    Very high ping with ubuntu

    Hello all,

    I switched from windows 7 to ubuntu yesterday. I was a bit curious how much trouble i will have with installing dota. As a suprise everything worked perfectly and the game even feels a bit smoother BUT i have a very high ping.

    I tested it on different servers, always the same problem. The ping is 2/3 of the time 500ms+ (0% packet loss) and only 1/3 of the time normal, so its unplayable. On windows 7 it was fine so it cant be the router settings.

    Would be nice if you can help me

    Edit: So I just realized via console that the spikes dont only appear in dota. I pinged google.de and the d2 servers and google has the same lag spikes. so its a ubuntu only problem. sorry for spamming u can delete this. but if u have a solution tell me


    Greetings tutgut

    Edit:

    ping to europe west servers in console (so game independent)

    PING vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=1 ttl=59 time=61.7 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=2 ttl=59 time=82.4 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=3 ttl=59 time=60.0 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=4 ttl=59 time=61.8 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=5 ttl=59 time=63.0 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=7 ttl=59 time=896 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=8 ttl=59 time=60.4 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=9 ttl=59 time=697 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=10 ttl=59 time=2231 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=11 ttl=59 time=1233 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=12 ttl=59 time=237 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=13 ttl=59 time=502 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=14 ttl=59 time=138 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=15 ttl=59 time=2077 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=16 ttl=59 time=1070 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=17 ttl=59 time=63.1 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=18 ttl=59 time=61.4 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=19 ttl=59 time=61.2 ms
    64 bytes from vie.valve.net (146.66.155.1): icmp_seq=20 ttl=59 time=60.0 ms
    Last edited by tutgut; 05-06-2014 at 02:47 AM.

  2. #2
    Basic Member Kangaroux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    958
    Is your internet connection wireless?
    Quote Originally Posted by Hitokiri Battousai View Post
    Firstly hi, i am not a racist but really i hate all of russians....

  3. #3
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    yes, i cant use lan in my room

  4. #4
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    95
    Same problem. Ubuntu 14.04. My ping goes up to 430 ms every 2 minutes.

    EDIT: My wlan card: TP-Link TL-WDN3800
    Last edited by lifestyle; 05-06-2014 at 05:45 AM.

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    my wlan card: tp-link TL-WN722N

    guess we have a hit here

    that means its 100% the wlan card and it has to be a common problem. i will google a bit and post a solution here, if nobody posts a solution here faster

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    95
    I found something: http://askubuntu.com/questions/45172...-14-04-realtek

    Right now I'm upgrading my kernel to 3.14.2. It takes a while.

  7. #7
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    95
    The solution is to install new kernel 3.14.* or newer.


    Ubuntu 14.04 with Kernel 3.13.*
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=58 ttl=247 time=30.7 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=59 ttl=247 time=31.6 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=60 ttl=247 time=30.3 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=61 ttl=247 time=31.4 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=62 ttl=247 time=480 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=63 ttl=247 time=441 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=64 ttl=247 time=428 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=65 ttl=247 time=428 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=66 ttl=247 time=427 ms

    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=67 ttl=247 time=30.9 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=68 ttl=247 time=29.8 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=69 ttl=247 time=31.5 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=70 ttl=247 time=29.9 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=71 ttl=247 time=31.4 ms
    and Ubuntu 14.04 with 3.14.2
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=103 ttl=247 time=29.9 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=104 ttl=247 time=31.0 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=105 ttl=247 time=29.7 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=106 ttl=247 time=29.9 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=107 ttl=247 time=31.1 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=108 ttl=247 time=33.8 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=109 ttl=247 time=31.2 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=110 ttl=247 time=29.7 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=111 ttl=247 time=135 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=112 ttl=247 time=31.2 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=113 ttl=247 time=29.5 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=114 ttl=247 time=31.2 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=115 ttl=247 time=29.7 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=116 ttl=247 time=31.0 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=117 ttl=247 time=31.5 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=118 ttl=247 time=31.2 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=119 ttl=247 time=30.0 ms
    64 bytes from 62.138.116.3: icmp_seq=120 ttl=247 time=30.0 ms
    I don't know about this 135 ms, but I have no lag in Dota 2.

    EDIT: I followed the instructions http://linuxg.net/how-to-install-ker...ative-systems/
    Last edited by lifestyle; 08-03-2014 at 05:01 AM.

  8. #8
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    4
    thanks, works perfectly and i have the red marked higher ping too. i tried "windows wireless drivers" app but i fucked up my whole wlan, didnt work

    so i think this solution is fine, big thanks!

  9. #9
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1
    Oh god what a life saver, thanks a lot it was unplayable. Same card btw, tp-link TL-WN722N for future reference.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •