Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: How do you make changes take effect?

  1. #1
    Basic Member Drkirby's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    894

    How do you make changes take effect?

    I have been trying to play with the Panorama UI a bit, mainly wanting to just put a nicer loading screen into some past mods and maybe make use of the new UI style, but none of my changes seem to actually do anything. I tried both starting from scratch, and then taking the all the panorama files from Overthrow and modifying them, but no changes seem to propagate. I was under the impression the assists should automatically recompile upon change, but that doesn't seem to be the case, and I can not find a way to manually force a recompile.

    Also, when I tried to make a change though the panorama debugger, I got an error saying p4.exe was missing, and it basically locked up the game.
    Last edited by Drkirby; 06-18-2015 at 06:10 AM.

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    5
    I'm having the same problem. I can't figure out how to compile the panorama files.

  3. #3
    Basic Member zedor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    39
    Apparently nothing gets compiled. The game folder for empty addons contains no panorama folder, and for overthrow etc it never get's modified.

  4. #4
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    11
    Quote Originally Posted by https://developer.valvesoftware.com/wiki/Dota_2_Workshop_Tools/Panorama
    When running the Dota tools, XML, CSS, and JS files in the content/ folder are monitored like any other content files and auto-recompiled and reloaded when you make changes. (This will only happen when the UI is active - an unused XML will only be compiled once it's actually used.)
    Looks like it should be compiled automatically...

    I've tried putting this directly in one of my .xml files and still nothing shows in the console.
    Code:
    	<script>
    		$.Msg( "Hello, world!" ):
    	</script>

  5. #5
    Basic Member zedor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    39
    It should, it doesnt, look into the game folder. Overthrow has .vxml_c, .vjs_c and .vcss_c files. Those are 'compiled' xml/js/css files. You can open it with a hexeditor to check, it's a valve wrapper.

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    159
    The Panorama files seem to not be compiling.

    I created an addon with Overthrow as the base and none of the compiled Panorama files have been modified since then, despite making edits to the source files.

  7. #7
    Basic Member jimmydorry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    814
    This is kind of important. Hard to play with this when changes are not compiled.

  8. #8
    Basic Member zedor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    39
    Just want to chime in to needlessly mention that this wasn't addressed at all in the update :P

  9. #9
    I have a tentative compiler for this stuff here: https://github.com/Penguinwizzard/So...urceDecompiler - there's a panoramacompiler executable that gets generated as part of the build. Builds of it can be gotten at https://moddota.com/uploads/PanoramaCompiler.exe

    EDIT: Disregard that, Valve fixed their stuff.
    Last edited by penguinwizzard; 06-19-2015 at 06:08 PM.

  10. #10
    Basic Member zedor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    39
    This patch seems to have fixed it, compiling does happen.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •