Page 3 of 30 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 13 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 293

Thread: Packet loss 1/3/2016

  1. #21
    Same issues here. I've got RCN and I live around Boston, playing on USEast.

    Game is nigh unplayable. Boy was it fun randoming Invoker last night...

  2. #22
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    12
    I repeatedly entered private lobbies hosted on US East last night with my roommate. Seemingly at random, sometimes we would both have packet loss and sometimes only one of us would have any packet loss while the other was fine. Unfortunately, there was never a case where neither of us had any packet loss.

    There does seem to be a lot of people with RCN in this thread. I've had RCN for more than a year now and never had any issues. I'm getting 175 down and 20 up with no issues anywhere except in Dota. I wonder if Valve has done something in the background related to DDoS protection or network optimization that fucks with RCN.

  3. #23
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by zerot_ View Post
    I'm in Washington DC, playing on US East.
    Quote Originally Posted by zerot_ View Post
    Yes, I'm on RCN. I'm also using WiFi, but a speedtest shows me getting 170+ down and 15+ up. Pinging my router for a few minutes shows no packet loss. Pinging the game server I'm connected to for a few minutes shows no packet loss. Quite frustrating. I've been playing for years and never had an issue like this. Nothing about my setup has changed.
    I'll throw my hat in the ring too. I'm in Washington, DC on RCN and started having large and consistent packet loss about two weeks ago.

    Quote Originally Posted by zerot_ View Post
    Really just want to be able to play some dota after work...
    Me too, man...me too. It's really frustrating.

  4. #24
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    19
    I too am having the exact same issue. I also have RCN and live in NYC. What I found last night during testing is the below data:

    PS. What I ended up doing for now is to connect to the west sever. I have like 60ms higher ping times BUT I have 0 packetloss to that server, which indicates this is an issue with the US East server, or the infrastructure leading to said server.

    I thought I was crazy. In the game I get 50% loss, which spikes to over 70% when I ping in cmd prompt.. I get visible and substantial packet loss. When I tracert I get nothing out of the ordinary, there are no dropped packets on any of the hops which I find to be a bit weird..

    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=22ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=28ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=24ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=39ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=48ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    Request timed out. Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=33ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=42ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=30ms TTL=55
    from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=26ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=36ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=25ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=55
    from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=34ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=55
    Request timed out.
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=29ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=27ms TTL=55
    Reply from 208.78.164.2: bytes=32 time=23ms TTL=55
    Request timed out. Request timed out.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
    2 14 ms 26 ms 26 ms
    3 32 ms 45 ms 16 ms bvi4.aggr1.nyw.ny.rcn.net [208.59.246.2]
    4 27 ms 29 ms 32 ms bdle6.core2.nyw.ny.rcn.net [207.172.15.89]
    5 25 ms 31 ms 27 ms tge0-1-0-2.core2.phdl.pa.rcn.net [207.172.19.20]
    6 31 ms 21 ms 24 ms hge0-3-0-1.core2.lnh.md.rcn.net [207.172.19.92]
    7 32 ms 25 ms 41 ms hge0-4-0-0.border1.eqnx.va.rcn.net [207.172.19.88]
    8 44 ms 24 ms 38 ms eqnx-v4-1.iad.valve.net [206.126.237.32]
    9 88 ms 64 ms 66 ms 192.168.121.3
    10 26 ms 33 ms 26 ms 208.78.164.2



    this is happening to loads of people

    https://www.reddit.com/r/DotA2/comme...loss_recently/

    https://www.reddit.com/r/DotA2/comme...et_loss_as_of/

    https://www.reddit.com/r/DotA2/comme...t_through_isp/
    Last edited by strunker; 01-07-2016 at 09:44 AM.

  5. #25
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    46
    we should post in the reddit threads and ask the reddit guys to share their experiences here... hopefully we can get this some more visability

  6. #26
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by murs View Post
    we should post in the reddit threads and ask the reddit guys to share their experiences here... hopefully we can get this some more visability


    posting here is super annoying you need to register, then link your steam account, which I didnt know so for the past 24 hours I was wondering why the hell I couldnt post here. Really is dumb..

    There isnt much new info in there, just people voicing their experience with this issue.

  7. #27
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    155
    I just wanted to post to acknowledge that we are looking into this. Our best guess based on what we've found in our logs is that there is some sort of asymmetric packet loss with certain ISP's to our East coast data centers and relays. (Packets are getting to the relay, but the packets sent by the relay are not getting back to you.)

    We're still trying to understand the problem.

  8. #28
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by fletcher View Post
    I just wanted to post to acknowledge that we are looking into this. Our best guess based on what we've found in our logs is that there is some sort of asymmetric packet loss with certain ISP's to our East coast data centers and relays. (Packets are getting to the relay, but the packets sent by the relay are not getting back to you.)

    We're still trying to understand the problem.
    Thank you for letting us know, fletcher.

  9. #29
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by fletcher View Post
    I just wanted to post to acknowledge that we are looking into this. Our best guess based on what we've found in our logs is that there is some sort of asymmetric packet loss with certain ISP's to our East coast data centers and relays. (Packets are getting to the relay, but the packets sent by the relay are not getting back to you.)

    We're still trying to understand the problem.
    Yeah. There were no drops along the route with tracert what so ever, which I wasnt expecting to see. With all the consistent loss happening in the pings I was hoping id be able to isolate which hop this issue is happening at in the tracert, but it isn't apparent.

    the only strange thing was the latency seemed to jump a bit when it hit hop 9, which I assume is some type of load balancer before the traffic was sent over to the actual server I ended up connecting to.

    1 <1 ms <1 ms <1 ms
    2 14 ms 26 ms 26 ms
    3 32 ms 45 ms 16 ms bvi4.aggr1.nyw.ny.rcn.net [208.59.246.2]
    4 27 ms 29 ms 32 ms bdle6.core2.nyw.ny.rcn.net [207.172.15.89]
    5 25 ms 31 ms 27 ms tge0-1-0-2.core2.phdl.pa.rcn.net [207.172.19.20]
    6 31 ms 21 ms 24 ms hge0-3-0-1.core2.lnh.md.rcn.net [207.172.19.92]
    7 32 ms 25 ms 41 ms hge0-4-0-0.border1.eqnx.va.rcn.net [207.172.19.88]
    8 44 ms 24 ms 38 ms eqnx-v4-1.iad.valve.net [206.126.237.32]
    9 88 ms 64 ms 66 ms 192.168.121.3
    10 26 ms 33 ms 26 ms 208.78.164.2
    Last edited by strunker; 01-07-2016 at 11:16 AM.

  10. #30
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by strunker View Post
    I ping in cmd prompt..
    Would like to draw attention to this really good diagnostic technique that strunker used. You run a command prompt in the background, which pings one of our servers every second or so, while you are playing the game. Then you check whether in-game problems correlate with dropped pings in the command prompt. The tricky bit is in making sure you are pinging the correct IP. Typically you can get this from the console, either look for the IP of the relay you are connected to, or the IP of the gameserver, if it's direct connect. (We don't show the IP of the gameserver if you are going through the relay.) Another good idea is to also open additional command prompts and ping your local router (you can get its address from the "ipconfig" command on windows, it's often something like 192.168.0.1), as well as some major web site like google or facebook. That provides strong clues whether the problem is with your LAN, your ISP, or us.

    And if you do have problems, sharing the tracert is really helpful.

    Thanks for that info, strunker.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •