Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: im playing dota2 with 45~75 fps WTF!?

  1. #1

    im playing dota2 with 45~75 fps WTF!?

    CPU:AMD Phenom 9550 x4
    RAM:4GB DDR2 800 MHZ
    GPU:NviDia GTX 560 ti

    fps should > 100

  2. #2
    Basic Member Mr.Hankey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    140
    CPU AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition
    RAM Kingston DDR3 HyperX 1333MHz 4GB
    GPU Gainward GeForce GTX 460 1GB PhysX CUDA (i think 460 and 560 is the same card but 560 is overlclocked)

    fps 90-120

  3. #3
    GPU Engine Specs:Graphics card version GTX 460
    1GB GDDR5 GTX 460 v2
    1GB GDDR5 GTX 460
    768MB GDDR5 GTX 460 SE
    CUDA Cores 336 336 336 288
    Graphics Clock (MHz) 675 778 675 650
    Processor Clock (MHz) 1350 1556 1350 1300
    Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 37.8 49.8 37.8 31.2
    Memory Specs:Graphics card version GTX 460
    1GB GDDR5 GTX 460 v2
    1GB GDDR5 GTX 460
    768MB GDDR5 GTX 460 SE
    Memory Clock (MHz) 1800 2004 1800 1700
    Standard Memory Config 1GB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5 768MB GDDR5 1GB GDDR5
    Memory Interface Width 256-bit 192-bit 192-bit 256-bit
    Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 115.2 96.2 86.4 108.8




    Graphics card version GTX 560 Ti GTX 560 Ti
    448 Cores
    Limited Edition
    CUDA Cores 384 448
    Graphics Clock (MHz) 822 732
    Processor Clock (MHz) 1645 1464
    Texture Fill Rate (billion/sec) 52.5 41
    Memory Specs:Memory Clock (MHz) 4008 Gbps 1900
    Standard Memory Config 1024 1280
    Memory Interface GDDR5 GDDR5
    Memory Interface Width 256-bit 320-bit
    Memory Bandwidth (GB/sec) 128 152
    Feature Support:OpenGL 4.1 4.1
    Bus Support PCI-E 2.0 x 16 PCI-E 2.0 x 16
    Certified for Windows 7 Yes Yes
    Supported Technologies1 3D Vision, 3D Vision Surround, CUDA, DirectX 11, PhysX, SLI 3D Vision, 3D Vision Surround, CUDA, DirectX 11, PhysX, SLI
    SLI Options 2-way2a 3-way2b

  4. #4
    You are experiencing a thing that is called BOTTLENECK. Look at your specs: you have a super fast Processor and Graphics card, yet your RAM is Very poor compared to them, which Naturally Slows them Down. Get at least 1333 Mhz RAM (DDR3 Preferably), and you may also want to get a faster (read/write speed) Hard Drive. You will have to change your mainboard if you want to install DDR3.

    Have fun getting an all ballanced computer, and good luck!

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Quote Originally Posted by JagdPanther69 View Post
    You are experiencing a thing that is called BOTTLENECK. Look at your specs: you have a super fast Processor and Graphics card, yet your RAM is Very poor compared to them, which Naturally Slows them Down. Get at least 1333 Mhz RAM (DDR3 Preferably), and you may also want to get a faster (read/write speed) Hard Drive. You will have to change your mainboard if you want to install DDR3.
    Thats Bullshit. The difference between 800mhz ddr2 to 1333mhz ddr3 is like 5%.

  6. #6
    Basic Member mr.ioes's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,472
    Ram is fine. Graphics card is fine. CPU is not so good, possibly your bottleneck.

    Checkout rivatuner and use hardware monitoring to see what's limiting your fps.

  7. #7
    ok iNf, I don't say you're wrong, although I still think the problem is a bottleneck (even if I might not have been right about the ram).

    it seems the problem really is the CPU, since it has quite a low cache and also a low operating frequency. Still, you may want to check if you have a hard drive with a decent speed

    also, it's good we found the problem, right?

    P.S. Well iNf, It's a pity you're not spending too much time on the forums. Your feedback could be most appreciated (even if you get a little "upset" when you find crappy statements)

    Have fun!

  8. #8
    Basic Member MDuh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Stranded in Canada
    Posts
    605
    OC your cpu
    I got the same proc and getting a a minimum of 110fps(fraps overlay, not net_graph fps) in clash fights
    [even though it has vsync, fraps is telling me that my max fps is 120]

    ATI 5770x2 @ 870-1240

  9. #9
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    44
    There's probably a bottleneck somewhere--for starters, why is your RAM only 4GB?
    Get at least 6GB dual channel RAM and see what happens. Check your HDD too--5400 rpm isn't enough, and you want to have enough space as well. Defrag your drive and put your paging file somewhere else if possible.

  10. #10
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,318
    What are you basing your "fps should > 100" expectation on?

    What resolution are you running, that would be the greatest impact on your performance. Your CPU may also be hurting, depending on your resolution. If you are running 1920X1080 on maximum settings, I would say ~60 fps average would be normal for your hardware.

    Were you expecting your single 560ti to be epic? It is a low level 'enthusiast' part, and dota is not optimised for performance currently. Your cpu is also weak.

    Contrary to other posts here, your ram is most likely not the issue. Just as a point of reference for you:

    I have an older machine running the game at around 60fps at 1080p resolution on highest settings with vsync off:

    GTX460
    Core2 duo e8400
    4GB 1066 DDR2 ram

    My other machine runs the game at around 200fps average when i set fps_max to 600, running max settings with vsync off at 1080p:

    i7 2600K
    580GTX
    16GB 1600 DDR3

    Chances are, by the time Dota 2 releases the performance will be much more optimised than it currently is, just take a look at all Valve games to date. They are always very scalable and run on a wide range of computers. Your hardware is better than average. Expecting much more than 60fps, however, would be unrealistic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •