Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Kill counter resets to 0 after 64 kills

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    519

    Kill counter resets to 0 after 64 kills

    Easily verifiable with bots and cheat mode activated. Kill counter for any given hero resets to 0 after 64. The likelihood of anyone getting over 64 kills in one game is pretty damn low, but I figure I might as well point it out until someone comes in and says this is intended.

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    335
    Well, stuff probably needs to be stored in bigger bytes so that it does not reset when it reached its maximum.

  3. #3
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    528
    That's definitely NOT intended

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12,296
    Quote Originally Posted by Seeder View Post
    Well, stuff probably needs to be stored in bigger bytes so that it does not reset when it reached its maximum.
    Lol, there's no "bigger byte" XD
    Byte range is either to 127 or to 255.
    Still wondering how and why they did this.

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    92
    Because they figured people might get over 32 kills but less than 128?

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    130
    I had a 80 minute game recently and the kills wont even get over 32..

    But I guess this is needed when playing games (later on) with only mid mode where kills get that high.

  7. #7
    Basic Member asprin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    35
    I confirm this. Played Veno with bots and the counter was reset back to 0.

  8. #8
    Basic Member scottrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    138
    Quote Originally Posted by Typhox View Post
    Lol, there's no "bigger byte" XD
    Byte range is either to 127 or to 255.
    Still wondering how and why they did this.
    Probably some goofy bit-packed data type so they could get k/d/a and something else (perhaps lh/d?) all in one int. I'm guessing deaths and assists will roll over as well?

    edit: Or it could just be a bug; I love over-analyzing haha...

  9. #9
    Basic Member nara's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    37
    Quote Originally Posted by AwesomeAL View Post
    I had a 80 minute game recently and the kills wont even get over 32..

    But I guess this is needed when playing games (later on) with only mid mode where kills get that high.
    I've played matchmaking games where i solely had over 30 kills, so this is certainly not intended. If you look at the screenshot you can see we got to 63 kills mark under 45 minutes.

    2011-12-06_00001.jpg

  10. #10
    Basic Member Charles Stover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by scottrick View Post
    Probably some goofy bit-packed data type so they could get k/d/a and something else (perhaps lh/d?) all in one int. I'm guessing deaths and assists will roll over as well?

    edit: Or it could just be a bug; I love over-analyzing haha...
    This is most likely the case. While it's true that there is no such thing as a "bigger byte," to save RAM, they are probably storing multiple integers per byte by using bitwise functionality.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •