Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51

Thread: February 9 Bot Update

  1. #21
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Sounds like some actions aren't working well with the queue rework (not surprising, it was a pretty big internal change), I'll take a look in the morning.

  2. #22
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Quote Originally Posted by Cornbane View Post
    Following my standard rule of thumb. If , as a player, you can't know this info, then the bots shouldn't either. Since you don't know how much gold an enemy has or what's in the stash, the bots shouldn't know an enemy's net worth.
    You can see the duration of Modifiers on enemies via the UI so that should be returned to bots on the opposite team.
    Agreed.

  3. #23
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Quote Originally Posted by nostrademous View Post
    I recently (unless I have shitty code) realized that the bot's don't know the Current movement speed of the enemy (even though as a spectator I can see it). This is something I wish was fixed.
    Also agreed, will fix.

  4. #24
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    731
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisC View Post
    Sounds like some actions aren't working well with the queue rework (not surprising, it was a pretty big internal change), I'll take a look in the morning.
    I just thought I was drunk and did something wrong when my bots were standing in base doing nothing....

  5. #25
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    274
    MoveToLocation's seem to work fine for me. So far just the MoveToUnit's. Going to try and sift through as many of them as I can before turning in.

  6. #26
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    It was bugging me so I took a look -- the issue with Action_MoveToLocation is if you call it too often (like every frame) it'll stall out. Easy fix.

    MoveToUnit does seem to be working to me. Are you pushing/queuing every frame maybe? If so it'll never take anything off the queue and execute it -- those should just be called once and let execute.

  7. #27
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    7
    Action_UseShrine() is no longer working for me, my bots run up to the shrine and stand there, there's no error in the console. Has something changed with shrine handles?

  8. #28
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    274
    A true programmer. There is no "look at it tomorrow", there is only "until I solve it."

    I'm using just a normal Action_MoveToUnit().

    I broke it down to using a mode file for a fresh bot to test it out. This is what I'm working with.

    Code:
    local HeroBot = GetBot();
    
    function GetDesire()
        return 1.0;
    end
    
    function Think()
        local unitlist = HeroBot:GetNearbyHeroes(1500,false,BOT_MODE_NONE);
    
        if unitlist ~= nil and #unitlist > 1
        then
            HeroBot:Action_MoveToUnit(unitlist[2]);
            print(unitlist[2]:GetUnitName());
        end
    end
    And this alternate version with Action_MoveToLocation() works.

    Code:
    local HeroBot = GetBot();
    
    function GetDesire()
        return 1.0;
    end
    
    function Think()
        HeroBot:Action_MoveToLocation(Vector(0,0));
    end

  9. #29
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Quote Originally Posted by Phyisis View Post
    Action_UseShrine() is no longer working for me, my bots run up to the shrine and stand there, there's no error in the console. Has something changed with shrine handles?
    Ah, yep, they're not issuing the final order to use it. Will fix.

  10. #30
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    1,704
    Quote Originally Posted by Cornbane View Post
    I broke it down to using a mode file for a fresh bot to test it out. This is what I'm working with.
    Aha, copy/paste bug, currently it's only working on buildings. Easy fix.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •