Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Last Word interaction with phase shift abilities (Puck + Riki)

  1. #1
    Basic Member Rheast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    42

    Last Word interaction with phase shift abilities (Puck + Riki)

    Last Word interacts with channeling abilities differently than with normal spells. The damage and silence should be applied after the channel ends.(Hold ALT to see additional green information in the ability description in Dota 2)

    Summary:
    Casting Last Word on Puck before Puck uses Phase Shift can give you 2 different results:
    • If Phase Shift is ended any earlier than its max shift time, then Last Word will damage and silence.
    • If Phase Shift is carried out to its maxiumum duration, Last Word will have no effect.

    The same problem occurs with Riki's Tricks of the Trade Ultimate.
    If you cancel the channel you will get damaged and silenced, but if you let the channel complete on it's own then you won't get damaged or silenced.

    Reproduction:
    1. Select Puck or Riki for Demo mode
    2. use "-createhero silencer enemy"
    3. Level up Puck's Phase Shift or Riki's Tricks of the Trade and Silencer's Last Word to any level
    4. Use Last Word on Puck or Riki (buy a Gem or Sentry Word with Silencer to target Riki if he's invisible)
    5.1. Cast Phase Shift with Puck or Tricks of the Trade with Riki and wait until the channel ends on itself
    5.2. Cast Phase Shift with Puck or Tricks of the Trade with Riki and cancel the channel before it ends on itself

    Expected:
    It should be consistent in both cases.

    This is a known bug for Puck's Phase Shift ability as it is also reported in the this Dev Forum. (Last update November 2015):
    http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?...light=silencer



    Furthermore Riki's Aghs Upgrade somehow changes his Ultimate from a channel to a non-channel ability when selfcast, which means he can dodge the damage and silence completely with it. The tooltip for Tricks of the Trade still says that it's a channeling ability though.

    Summary:
    Riki's Aghs upgrade changes Tricks of the Trade to a non-channel ability when selfcast.
    It doesn't matter whether you let Tricks of the Trade expire on its own or cancel it early, it never damages or silences Riki when selfcast.

    Reproduction:
    1. Select Riki for Demo mode
    2. use "-createhero silencer enemy"
    3. Level up Riki's Tricks of the Trade and Silencer's Last Word to any level
    4. Buy an Aghanim's Scepter for Riki
    5. Use Last Word on Riki (buy a Gem or Sentry Word with Silencer to target Riki if he's invisible)
    6.1. Cast Tricks of the Trade on yourself with Riki and wait until the channel ends on itself
    6.2. Cast Tricks of the Trade on yourself with Riki and cancel the channel before it ends on itself

    Expected:
    Tricks of the Trade should stay a channel ability and the Aghs upgrade shouldn't affect the interaction with Last Word.
    Last edited by Rheast; 01-31-2019 at 04:28 PM. Reason: added Riki selfcast info

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    16
    Interaction is still bugged, here is a video.


  3. #3
    Volunteer Moderator bu3ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    .-.
    Posts
    11,659
    Happens because the channel and the modifier are not depending on each other. For example, you can cancel the channeling without losing the modifier.

    When you cancel Phase Shift (or Tricks of the Trade) manually, then you lose the modifier first, and then the channeling gets canceled. If you let it expire, the channeling finishes first and then you lose the modifier. The order causes the 2 different interactions with Last Word.

    The modifier should not have its own rules, and be bound to the channeling. The current behavior causes many bugged interactions.
    Please, just call me buny.

  4. #4
    Basic Member Rheast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    42
    Here's a screenshot of the combat log for Riki's upgraded Ultimate when selfcast. It behaves like the normal Ultimate when cast on allies.



    I didn't check before whether selfcast or not would make a difference, but they do.
    Last edited by Rheast; 01-31-2019 at 04:30 PM.

  5. #5
    Basic Member Rheast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    42
    [7.22d] Still bugged.

    Bump for Summer Scrub.

  6. #6
    Basic Member Rheast's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Posts
    42
    After Summer Scrub
    Still bugged

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •