Thread: The new Icons are great, Fantastic job by valve!

Banned

The new Icons are great, Fantastic job by valve!

I just spent nearly 2 hours to study the icons and new interface in dota 2, and must i say how impressed i am. I am a digital designer myself with around 6 years of experience and i must say i am really impressed with every changes in the game screen interface and new icons, although there are some small details that can be enhanced, but first let me just say again i was blown away by this great enhancement, loved the stones in game interface, loved the look and feel of it, the icons were looking fantastic and i noticed on some icons there is a complete picture and some names, which i had to google and compare some icons to get an exact picture of which is which one.

Now on improving the overall design topic, in my opinion, i think the hero picture has given a bit smaller ratio place holder, so now the hero portrait is not fully shown, as it was in past. second, some of the icons weren't changed just a small enhancement which i think still were great, i think the new design is great but some icons were really hard to detect which one is which like scepter which is not a problem for new people (which they would learn from the new icons) and the old players that just have to look at it a few more times.
    in general this was a great update.

Although i wished we could have a new hero this week as well

Im protesting against these new changes.

As previously said, Mekansm looks nothing like Mekansm anymore, there is no iconic yellow color. Headdress of Rejuvenation also looks too alien.

Veil of Discord looks too similar to Hood of Defiance.

Scythe of Vyse loses its iconic orange color.

Vlads loses its iconic green color.

Dagon 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 should still have numbers on top of them instead of just showing the extra fingers. Same thing goes for Necronomicon.