Thread: Bot video analysis (LONG)

Basic Member

Bot video analysis (LONG)

First off I’d like to make a request to Chris to make a command that will spam the –dumpbots command once or twice every second.
    I’m not too good at remembering to copy/paste it into chat when killing things and for me the most glaring issues that I’ve encountered are pretty much all cases where the bot starts acting in conflicting ways. I assume that means certain values are quickly changing causing the AI to change its mind in rapid succession. Hence, to better look at this behavior more than just a single dumpbots would be good.

The following video shows about 6 games (3 or 4 played with 2 friends) against NORMAL bots and showing many of their bad moments, particularly I’d like to point out the conflictions in AI near the start as being the worst. I’d say the video shows gradually less severe bot cases.

Without further ado, here is the video and descriptions of what’s going wrong.
    I bolded certain time stamps, the ones I think are very good examples of what they're doing wrong and how they should be improved.

TL;DR: Read the bolded time stamps and part 1. Alternatively, just watch the video.

PART 1 – 00:00 – 02:06 – Early laning conflicts (this entire part is critical)
    This is basically showcasing some early laning abuse, the first 3 I specifically set up to show it. In the other 6 games that I played normally I didn’t use these tricks (intentionally), because basically it’s extremely cheap and starting with 500+ gold and almost 2 free levels makes the game kind of redundant.
    The bots have a tendency to shuffle around when using these tricks or start an attack animation on you only to cancel it at the last second for no apparent reason.