Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: [Script] Hold Button [H] = Stop Completely

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Basic Member Invoqwer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    272

    [Script] Hold Button [H] = Stop Completely

    After reading the thread found here, I decided to whip up some hold scripts that will essentially do the same thing without having to wait for the devs to implement it. Use this at their leisure.

    Summary: when (pressed) your H key will work normally. When (held), your hero will hold and stop auto-acquiring. They'll "freeze". There is also a [S] version for stop.

    "Hit & Hold"
    Code:
    developer 1
    echo "(Hit&Hold) script loaded.
    echo "Holding H will stop auto-acquiring and hold position."
    echo "Hitting H will execute a hold // auto-acquire on.
    
    bind h "+holdpos"
    alias "+holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 0; dota_stop; dota_hold"
    alias "-holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 1"
    "Stop & Hold"
    Code:
    developer 1
    echo "(Stop&Hold) script loaded. 
    echo "Holding S will stop auto-acquiring and hold position."
    echo "Hitting S will execute a stop // auto-acquire on."
    
    bind s "+holdpos"
    alias "+holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 0; dota_stop"
    alias "-holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 1"
    These two scripts are pretty much identical in function.

    If you don't know how scripts work, read up here: http://wiki.teamfortress.com/wiki/Scripting
    Find your CFG folder here (usually): C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\dota 2 beta\dota\cfg

    There is something weird with DotA2 where if you're far enough into your attack, your attack will follow through. Something to do with the more generous motion buffer thing I think. I tried trouble shooting around this, but it will still probably bug up sometimes, so just a heads up when spamming the key.
    Last edited by Invoqwer; 12-06-2012 at 03:08 PM.

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    334
    omg this is so awesome.

  3. #3
    Basic Member Invoqwer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    272
    Quote Originally Posted by okrane View Post
    omg this is so awesome.
    Glad to see that you like it

  4. #4
    Basic Member Invoqwer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    272
    Bump to spread the word.

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1,191
    you should post this script in the stickied post that Solace made... I think it would work better in his collection than the current stop/hold script in place.

  6. #6
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    413
    I think it's a good idea.

    I have just one comment the scripts though: to me it looks like you're issuing some unnecessary commands. I don't think it really matters, but you could probably change it from this:
    Code:
    alias "+holdpos" "dota_stop; dota_hold; dota_player_units_auto_attack 0"
    alias "-holdpos" "dota_stop; dota_hold; dota_player_units_auto_attack 1; dota_stop;"
    to this, and get the same functionality.
    Code:
    alias "+holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 0; dota_hold"
    alias "-holdpos" "dota_player_units_auto_attack 1"
    Right?

    Doesn't 'hold' imply that the hero stops anyway? And presumably the hero doesn't need to have the 'hold' command again when the button is released.

  7. #7
    Basic Member Invoqwer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    272
    I added "stop" in there as an added guard against this auto-attacking glitch. Like I said in the OP, there's something weird with DotA2 where even if you have auto-attacking off, your hero will act as if auto-attacking is on if your target dies. I added in a stop command to try to help to prevent. It should be fine it most situations but you will/would notice it if you spam S, then miss a last hit, and your hero starts attacking a different creep...

  8. #8
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    595
    For those afraid of editing script, you can turn auto-attack off and pressing "s" or "h" will make your hero stop moving completely.

  9. #9
    I've been looking for this for a long time, nice addition I must say, btw do you need to reload the autoexec everytime you log in?
    I'm asking because i've tried different bindings and settings and I found myself always in need to reload it to get it work =/

  10. #10
    Basic Member RjQuery's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    80
    Good job, this feature should be official.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •