Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Decompiling of models

  1. #1
    Basic Member Storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    1,009

    Question Decompiling of models

    I am trying to get hero and item files I can load into my 3D editor. I tried to follow guides I found in the net, but none of the programs work.

    I successfully extracted the game files using GCFScape.

    However, the guides say I have to "decompile" the model (whatever that means...) to get files 3D editors can handle.

    I tried Cannonfodder's Studiocompiler (previously MDL Decompiler) but it crashes every time I try to decompile. Other people seemed to have teh same issue. Someone suggested they found a fixed version of Cannonfodder's MD Decompiler, but it also crashes on trying to extract.

    I copied the *.dx90.ctx file and renamed it to *.dx80.vtx as the guides said.


    So, any idea how will it actually work?


    I'm using Win 7 64bit if that helps.


    P.s.: If it works for someone, all I ask of you to please decompile all three model files in heroes/keeper-_of_the_light and send/upload them somewhere. Thanks!
    Last edited by Storm; 08-05-2012 at 11:40 PM.
    Storm[HUN] ~~~ Sic itur ad astra, per aspera. | [Dotabuff]

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    31
    Don't try and use a custom output directory, leave it as is and go fetch the files later, or copy and paste in a location. Whenever I try to customize the output path it crashes, works fine if I just let it go and move the files after.

  3. #3
    Basic Member Storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    1,009
    In theory you can manually paste the output and it should work, but it doesn't.

    I also tried already leaving it on default, but it crashes as well.
    Storm[HUN] ~~~ Sic itur ad astra, per aspera. | [Dotabuff]

  4. #4
    Basic Member Automedic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,088
    Quote Originally Posted by Storm View Post
    However, the guides say I have to "decompile" the model (whatever that means...) to get files 3D editors can handle.

    I tried Cannonfodder's Studiocompiler (previously MDL Decompiler) but it crashes every time I try to decompile. Other people seemed to have teh same issue. Someone suggested they found a fixed version of Cannonfodder's MD Decompiler, but it also crashes on trying to extract.
    I'm having the exact same problem. It would be rad if someone here could help us.

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    31
    Uploaded a screenshot of my settings / version, maybe that will help, like I said earlier, don't select a output directory and make sure the file is dx80 (otherwise u get vertices error).

    I blanked out one of the configurations because its a old deleted folder, so it seems irrelevant.

    skcompare2.jpg

  6. #6
    Basic Member Automedic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,088
    It worked for me now. I forgot renaming dc90.vtx to dx80.vtx.

    and apparently you don't have to configure the game directoryat all - worked foine for me without doing so. I also didn't change the output path.

  7. #7
    Basic Member Storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    1,009
    Quote Originally Posted by Mig_ View Post
    Uploaded a screenshot of my settingsskcompare2.jpg
    AHHHH!!!! I found my error! I didn't notice the Game directory field on the top, so I didn't have that set. I pasted the directory path manually (As using the browsing crashes the tool) and now it works! Funny it works for Automedic without it! LOL.


    HOWEVER, there are still no ANY files Blender can open.

    If I decompile Keeper of the Light's hero model, I get 32 .smd files and a .qc file.
    If I decompile his staff's model (separate file), I get stafffx_model.dmx.smd, Run.smd and Bindpose.smd

    But Blender doesn't recognize .smd or .qc files, and the guides I have seen stop at decompiling, like everything was done. Like this:
    http://www.polycount.com/forum/showp...04&postcount=8


    Out of curiosity I tried it with a cosmetic item, and I also got 3 .smd files and a .qc file.


    So I still don't know how to get anything in Blender. Thanks for the help tho.
    Storm[HUN] ~~~ Sic itur ad astra, per aspera. | [Dotabuff]

  8. #8
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    159
    in order to open smd files, you need the smd tools add-on. Works only in the las version of blender.
    What a man can get from a extinct civilisation : Atlantis' Trident Lost Treasure

  9. #9
    Basic Member Automedic's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,088
    Quote Originally Posted by justiceiro View Post
    in order to open smd files, you need the smd tools add-on. Works only in the las version of blender.
    yep. got that too, works perfectly fine.

  10. #10
    Basic Member Storm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Hungary
    Posts
    1,009
    Thank you very much! Works fine!
    Storm[HUN] ~~~ Sic itur ad astra, per aspera. | [Dotabuff]

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •