Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Workshop instructions are only intelligible for porfessionals

Exclamation Workshop instructions are only intelligible for porfessionals

Greetings.

I have a limited 3D knowledge and experience. I used to be a professional content creator in the 3D virtual reality of Second Life, using their own tools mainly, and creating basic "sculpted" models in 3rd party program. So I'm not a total beginner. However, I never did modeling for games, know barely anything about materials and my abilites about any kind of maps consist of baking a basic shadow map without touching the UV map.

I'm pretty sure I could learn the rest if there were any materials available.

But the stuff Valve put up is intelligible only for professionals. It speaks in vague pro terms, and seems to assume I am an all-round professional who knows everything already.

I tried to find guides on the net, but I found only a very few and those are obscure as well.

Examples:
    1. In order to help keep things organized, please maintain our file structure:
      What does this mean? File structure? WHERE? Inside the archive I upload into the workshop, or what? I just don't get it because it is not specified anywhere.
    2. How can I acquire files I can load into my rd software to work on or use as measurement? All attempts to decompile files failed for me (see: http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=50228 )
    3. What is the actual process of preparing an item for uploading? The guides only speak on obscure and lacking fragments of information.
    4. Do I have to attach a skeleton to simple items like staffs and swords worn in hand?
    5. Do I have to wight paint anthing that moves with the hero (i.e. clothes, armor etc.)?
    6. There are a ton more questions I just can't recall right now...