Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: [Intended?] Chronosphere is instant

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    1,128

    [Intended?] Chronosphere is instant

    Description: In dota, chronosphere is applied in 0.1 seconds intervals, in dota 2 it is as soon as you enter the AoE


    Repro steps:
    Pick Void
    Lvl up to 6
    Get an Ally
    Make Ally buy dagger
    Make Ally start to TP to tower and shift queue a blink
    Cast chronosphere to where he is tping

    Result: Ally will be caught in chronosphere
    Expected: Ally to blink away

  2. #2
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    11,187
    i'd consider this as an intended change.
    added to intended fix list.
    Make sure to read the Forum Rules as well as the stickied Threads of the Forum Section you are posting in.

    Contributions i'd like to highlight:
    My Suggestion: Coaching System
    My Sticky: Intended Changes List
    My Challenge: Completely Fixed Hero Challenge: Skywrath Mage

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    286
    Quote Originally Posted by blash365 View Post
    i'd consider this as an intended change.
    added to intended fix list.
    On what basis?

  4. #4
    Basic Member mindfaQ's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    957
    yep, intended since units are not meant to be able to do anything in chronosphere (same for black hole and you can also see icefrog trying to improve the consistency of blackholes disable in dota 1, expect that the same goes for chrono)
    specs for bugreports:
    i5-4200U
    AMD Radeon HD 8750M
    win 7


  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    11,187
    Quote Originally Posted by gergeux View Post
    On what basis?
    on the basis of common sense.
    Make sure to read the Forum Rules as well as the stickied Threads of the Forum Section you are posting in.

    Contributions i'd like to highlight:
    My Suggestion: Coaching System
    My Sticky: Intended Changes List
    My Challenge: Completely Fixed Hero Challenge: Skywrath Mage

  6. #6
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    12,296

    [Intended] Chronosphere is instant (should have 100ms buildup delay)

    As found out in this thread here: http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=81535 (the reason why my Phoenix didn't kill the Void btw is also the reason why I don't play DotA 1 anymore: Input delay without feedback).

    Void's ultimate Chronosphere should have a 100ms buildup time before it affects any units. That means it is possible (in DotA 1) to escape chronosphere while it builds up (Icarus Dive, Force Staff, etc; the 100ms is added to the cast time of Void). There is also a nice animation for it to build up in DotA 1.
    Currently it is instant after Void's cast time.
    Last edited by Typhox; 11-13-2013 at 01:22 AM.

  7. #7
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Shanghai/Hong Kong
    Posts
    2,880
    need to read the code to confirm
    nvm, saw the discussion in that thread
    Last edited by Eric37073; 11-13-2013 at 01:26 AM.

  8. #8
    Volunteer Moderator bu3ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    .-.
    Posts
    11,639
    Added.
    Please, just call me buny.

  9. #9
    Basic Member hoveringmover's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    2,509
    This is rigged at the moment because you don't have time to turn when Void jumps at you from the side, which means you can't rely on being able to use Ethereal Blade or Heaven's Halberd on him just as he casts it unlike in the old game. The only way you can for sure cast such items on him is if you don't get caught and that isn't consistent with the old game at all nor is it fair.
    I will mercilessly add to my ignore list anyone that makes an incredibly annoying signature.

  10. #10
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    2,010
    So all this time it wasn't just me that thought SIlencer's ulti can never disable Void after he jumps in...

    Is this actually a bug because of the cast time or his casting animation ?
    Explanations on the normal, high and very high brackets in replays: here, here & here
    Why maphacks won't work in D2: here

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •