Page 5 of 112 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 15 55 105 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 1112

Thread: Middle East Server

  1. #41
    Basic Member Nighthawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Turkey
    Posts
    19
    Quote Originally Posted by milton View Post
    I may be able to influence this from my side but it is a lot of work to try and tweak the routes for every network out there. I don't have an army of network engineers. There is just me
    I think Valve should hire some

    Is Turkey's network infrastructure not qualified or just you don't know about it yet?

  2. #42
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    523
    I don't have enough information yet about any particular network in the Middle East. I am still putting together who the major providers are and where they might be peering.

    Hiring some more engineers something we are always trying to do. But hiring for it/network positions is hard based on Valve's criteria.

    Quote Originally Posted by Nighthawk View Post
    I think Valve should hire some

    Is Turkey's network infrastructure not qualified or just you don't know about it yet?

  3. #43
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    62
    Quote Originally Posted by milton View Post
    Physical locality doesn't mean network locality unfortunately. We need to find a point where all the countries in the region and providers peer, but it also need to be physically close as well otherwise we end up in the situation where traffic goes to Europe and back rather than across a neighboring border.
    You're right.

    I am not an expert but if the problem is ping, distance is important thing also network infrastructure.

  4. #44
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Oman
    Posts
    224
    Quote Originally Posted by milton View Post
    I don't have enough information yet about any particular network in the Middle East. I am still putting together who the major providers are and where they might be peering.

    Hiring some more engineers something we are always trying to do. But hiring for it/network positions is hard based on Valve's criteria.
    Etisalat is one of the middle east best service provider. Have a talk with them. Maybe a server in uae make our dreams come true

  5. #45
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    18
    Quote Originally Posted by milton View Post
    Physical locality doesn't mean network locality unfortunately. We need to find a point where all the countries in the region and providers peer, but it also need to be physically close as well otherwise we end up in the situation where traffic goes to Europe and back rather than across a neighboring border.
    I have done my research and with my past experience, opening a server in UAE Dubai would be the best choice for all middle east countries.

  6. #46
    Valve Developer
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    523
    If you can elaborate on your research that would be useful. I am collecting data from a number of sources and it seems to agree with you. I just want to know a bit more of the specifics so I have a good understanding of the situation.

    Quote Originally Posted by Sanrotoky View Post
    I have done my research and with my past experience, opening a server in UAE Dubai would be the best choice for all middle east countries.

  7. #47
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    18
    For my research, i checked my pings in all of the countries around me. I extended it until the European ones.
    The best two pings I had were Qatar and UAE. When I asked people to check their pings from different countries, their best pings were in UAE.
    I have also played in UAE rooms in garena for dota 1.
    It seems like they have the best pings for everyone in the middle east.
    So from my experience it would be wise to pick UAE since it has the best ping for all middle east countries as a whole, not one only.

  8. #48
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Oman
    Posts
    224

  9. #49
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    83
    Quote Originally Posted by milton View Post
    Physical locality doesn't mean network locality unfortunately. We need to find a point where all the countries in the region and providers peer, but it also need to be physically close as well otherwise we end up in the situation where traffic goes to Europe and back rather than across a neighboring border.
    ^ This!

    Also grateful for your sincere interest in finding a solution!!

    I'm from Bahrain and my ping is all over the place to EU west. 1 in 20 games I'll get 150 ping, and the game will be pure bless! However, most of the time my ping will be between 250-370, which sux big time.

    I know nothing about tracerts but hope mine contributes:

    Quote Originally Posted by Injectelo View Post
    tracert 146.66.156.44

    Tracing route to 146.66.156.44 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 52 ms 101 ms 101 ms dsldevice.lan [192.168.1.254]
    2 * * * Request timed out.
    3 20 ms 20 ms 23 ms 89.148.62.26
    4 20 ms 20 ms 19 ms 89.148.62.33
    5 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 172.17.2.86
    6 20 ms 20 ms 20 ms 172.17.2.117
    7 242 ms 242 ms 243 ms 195.229.29.177
    8 219 ms 218 ms 221 ms if-9-0.mcore3.LDN-London.as6453.net [195.219.195
    .69]
    9 368 ms 367 ms 368 ms 195.229.31.233
    10 156 ms 156 ms 156 ms te0-7-0-7.ccr21.lon01.atlas.cogentco.com [130.11
    7.15.177]
    11 251 ms 238 ms 243 ms eth5-8.r1.ams2.nl.atrato.net [78.152.34.77]
    12 158 ms 159 ms 158 ms te0-2-0-0.ccr21.ams03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .28.157]
    13 252 ms 254 ms 253 ms eth1-4.r1.ham1.de.atrato.net [78.152.35.102]
    14 184 ms 184 ms 185 ms te0-4-0-4.ccr21.sto03.atlas.cogentco.com [154.54
    .73.42]
    15 280 ms 284 ms 284 ms ve17.r1.sto2.se.atrato.net [78.152.35.186]
    16 291 ms 312 ms 301 ms 149.11.112.26
    17 277 ms 274 ms 274 ms unknown.hwng.net [81.171.70.218]
    18 257 ms 255 ms 256 ms 146-66-156-227.valve.net [146.66.157.227]
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.
    Last edited by Injectelo; 02-08-2013 at 07:48 PM. Reason: typo

  10. #50
    Banned
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Russia FAR EAST
    Posts
    800
    Quote Originally Posted by 7_ShininGAngel View Post
    Tracing route to 146.66.153.110 over a maximum of 30 hops

    1 24 ms 24 ms 23 ms 188.158.88.1
    2 23 ms 23 ms 23 ms 10.56.210.9
    3 23 ms 25 ms 23 ms 89.165.3.137
    4 35 ms 36 ms 35 ms 78.38.245.189
    5 35 ms 39 ms 35 ms 10.10.36.253
    6 124 ms 125 ms 124 ms so-3-1-3.elst-rgr1.ug.ip.rostelecom.ru [188.128.
    88.157]
    7 151 ms 152 ms 151 ms xe-3-1-0.stkm-ar2.intl.ip.rostelecom.ru [87.226.
    133.135]
    8 229 ms 228 ms 228 ms s-b3-link.telia.net [62.115.11.57]
    9 227 ms 227 ms 226 ms s-bb2-link.telia.net [80.91.253.227]
    10 227 ms 229 ms 230 ms ffm-bb2-link.telia.net [213.155.131.48]
    11 230 ms 228 ms 229 ms ffm-b10-link.telia.net [80.91.251.124]
    12 231 ms 234 ms 232 ms valve-ic-157467-ffm-b10.c.telia.net [213.248.101
    .90]
    13 231 ms 234 ms 225 ms 146-66-154-227.valve.net [146.66.154.227]
    14 * * * Request timed out.
    15 * * * Request timed out.
    16 * * * Request timed out.
    17 * * * Request timed out.
    18 * * * Request timed out.
    19 * * * Request timed out.
    20 * * * Request timed out.
    21 * * * Request timed out.
    22 * * * Request timed out.
    23 * * * Request timed out.
    24 * * * Request timed out.
    25 * * * Request timed out.
    26 * * * Request timed out.
    27 * * * Request timed out.
    28 * * * Request timed out.
    29 * * * Request timed out.
    30 * * * Request timed out.

    Trace complete.

    C:\Users\acer>89.148.35.2377.185

    13:20 Seattle time
    I had 250ms ping this time ingame.
    My ISP is sabanet yes, not sure if changing ISP will work.
    I could call them but can they do something about it?
    i see "rostelecom" its major IPS in Russia, ping to www.ya.ru

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •