Page 2 of 31 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 12 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 310

Thread: Dota 2 hero select crash megathread

  1. #11
    Basic Member PlanetBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    16
    Same thing here.. played as viper...

    Please remove this abandon from my record.

  2. #12
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    18

    Cool Dota 2 hero select crash MEGATHREAD v5.0

    Last updated this OP at 8:30pm Valve time.



    WARNING: DO NOT PICK VIPER, TINKER, WR, MEDUSA, CM, RASTA, OR CLINKZ IN A MULTIPLAYER GAME, OR YOU RISK AN ABANDON

    Community of dotes: If you post your similar issue here, I'll compile it into this post. If you've started a similar thread PM me the link.

    I'm calling this a megathread because I don't want to solve my problem, but our problem. Post your issue and your computer specs, etc, if you please.

    The basic problem is this:
    Code:
    Dota works fine until you select a hero. 
    After that, you get about 2 seconds in fountain before exception is thrown (0xC0000005) and game crashes. (MOST USERS WILL JUST SEE DOTA HAS STOPPED RESPONDING)
    Any attempts to reconnect to the game are met with a similar crash. (forces an abandon)
    Not sure what's going on. Others are having the same crash when selecting certain menu items, opening menu in spectate mode, etc.

    Update
    As of the mini patch, it appears that it's still not fixed and windrunner is now crashing the game as well. Pick cautiously and try to warn other players, or they/you risk an abandon.
    Restarting steam client currently not fixing it for all heroes.

    Personally for me, it only crashes on Tinker, and others are fine, but apparently this problem is pretty rampant at the moment with a lot of different heroes and scenarios.

    Video of the crash with Viper
    http://www.justin.tv/gasparmx/b/369917494 (courtesy of gasparmx)

    Heroes that people have crashed with (still not sure if this is hero specific at all)
    • Viper (PlanetBob)
    • Clinkz (Tommy)
    • Shadow shaman (Olteonz)
    • Every hero and BUILDS section of learn tab (Ragnar Homsar)
    • Tinker (me)
    • Medusa (several people)
    • Crystal maiden (several people)


    Related threads:
    Game is crashing as soon as I get in
    Dota crashing
    Game is crashing as soon as I get in
    Clicking 'Play' On Any Hero Closes The Game
    game crashed whenever windrunner is played

    Figured it might be a corrupt file somewhere, but I ran an integrity check on the game cache and the problem is still there.

    While I could reinstall, I am keeping it this way for a minute in hopes the problem can be identified and reproduced to prevent the issue in the future.

    Apparently other people (links above) are having this problem with all heroes. And when opening a menu when spectating. On another PC in my house, I am also having the 'no tabs' problem.

    I'm a programmer and I am familiar with Minidump files and could even try to debug this myself a little. Probably best to 'leave it to the pros' though.
    Could host my minidumps somewhere for you guys to check out.

    But, in general, here's what I could figure from the problem using the Minidump and the limited information the binary provides:


    The crash occurs at 0x602431F0 in scaleformui_4.dll, where it attempts to read from two 4 byte objects at [edi+18h] and [edi+1Ch] into eax and ebx respectively, but edi = 0 (so NULL read/access violation basically).
    0xC0000005 is the exception code.



    Or I could be totally reading this wrong! I'm just a student .

    Some Minidump files from the community



    Oddly, it seems that this started a few days ago for most people, but just today for me? Anyways, if there is anything I can do to help, let me know.

    Here are the specs of the computer I'm having this issue on:

    Installed hardware
    Code:
    Computer:      GIGABYTE 
    CPU:           Intel Core i5-3570K (Ivy Bridge-DT, E1)
                   3400 MHz (34.00x100.0) @ 3833 MHz (38.00x100.9)
    Motherboard:   GIGABYTE Z77X-UD5H
    Chipset:       Intel Z77 (Panther Point DH)
    Memory:        16384 MBytes @ 672 MHz, 9.0-9-9-24
                   - 8192 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - G Skill F3-12800CL10-8GBXL
                   - 8192 MB PC12800 DDR3 SDRAM - G Skill F3-12800CL10-8GBXL
    Graphics:      Intel Ivy Bridge-DT GT2 - Integrated Graphics Controller [E1/L1/N0/P0] [GIGABYTE]
                   Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Ivy Bridge GT2), 2 MB 
    Graphics:      EVGA e-GeForce GTX 670
                   nVIDIA GeForce GTX 670 (GK104-325), 2048 MB GDDR5 SDRAM
    Drive:         M4-CT256M4SSD2, 250.1 GB, Serial ATA 6Gb/s
    Drive:         ST31000528AS, 976.8 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    Drive:         SAMSUNG HD502IJ, 488.4 GB, Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    Drive:         TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C, DVD+R DL
    Sound:         Intel Panther Point PCH - High Definition Audio Controller [C1]
    Sound:         nVIDIA GK104 - High Definition Audio Controller
    Network:       Intel 82579V (Lewisville) Gigabit Network Connection
    Network:       Atheros AR8151 PCI-E Gigabit Ethernet Controller (L1c)
    OS:            Microsoft Windows 8 Professional (x64) Build 9200
    Installed software (Maybe irrelevant) put it on pastebin to keep post shorter - http://pastebin.com/DtWj2LJc
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by inequity; 02-21-2013 at 09:32 PM.

  3. #13
    Basic Member PlanetBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    16
    Same thing here.. played as viper...

  4. #14
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    57
    Its happening to me while playing Clinkz.

  5. #15
    Got this in a game with Viper as well. In the game previous, a guy was Tinker and kept disconnecting. Was also because of this.

  6. #16
    Basic Member PlanetBob's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    16
    so its viper tinker and clinkz for now?? iam testing some other heroes.. most of them are fine

  7. #17
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Yep, It kept crashing when i picked viper in sd. now I'm in a low priority pool. brilliant!

  8. #18
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    84
    Quote Originally Posted by PlanetBob View Post
    Same thing here.. played as viper...
    Me too. I played one viper game just fine, on the next game (viper again) I crashed as soon as my teammate bought a courier. (but it was really little into the game, so I don't think it was related). After that, any reconnect attempt failed (reconnect -> 1 second ingame -> crash miserably).

    Never had the issue before latest patch

    Edit: setting the option -nod3d9ex didn't change anything, game still crashes as viper.
    Last edited by QQWRD; 02-21-2013 at 06:48 PM.

  9. #19
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    4
    Same.

  10. #20
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    57
    Quote Originally Posted by smb View Post
    Yep, It kept crashing when i picked viper in sd. now I'm in a low priority pool. brilliant!
    You're in the low priority pool from one abandon?

    Personally, i didnt get an abandon, despite the fact i was unable to reconnect and what not, no idea why, but im not complaining....like i would had i gotten an abandon. :P

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •