Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Extra Instances of Damage From Soul Catcher Does Not Burn Refraction

  1. #1
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,137

    Extra Instances of Damage From Soul Catcher Does Not Burn Refraction

    Irrelevant since 6.82: Soul Catcher and Penitence doesn't deal a seperate damage instance anymore

    When damage is blocked by Refraction, it eats the two instances from one damage source with one charge in Dota 2. Each instance should be a charge in DotA 1.

    Probably affects Penitence, Stone Gaze, and Fate's Edict as well. Edit: and Flesh Golem, which is wrong for another reason.
    Last edited by bu3ny; 10-08-2014 at 06:33 AM. Reason: Irrelevant since 6.82: Soul Catcher doesn't deal a seperate damage instance anymore

  2. #2
    Volunteer Moderator
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    2,671
    Definitely affects flesh golem (because it's only one damage instance in dota 2) :P

  3. #3
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    11,187
    added to sticky.
    Make sure to read the Forum Rules as well as the stickied Threads of the Forum Section you are posting in.

    Contributions i'd like to highlight:
    My Suggestion: Coaching System
    My Sticky: Intended Changes List
    My Challenge: Completely Fixed Hero Challenge: Skywrath Mage

  4. #4
    Volunteer Moderator bu3ny's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    .-.
    Posts
    11,888
    Stone Gaze deals only 1 damage instance, just like Flesh Golem, so they naturally only use up 1 charge in Dota2. This is,as you already said, wrong for another reason.

    Penitence and Soul Catcher however do 2 instances of damage in Dota2. The actual damage and the amplification. However, it seems like the amplification does only happen when the target gets actually gets damaged. So if for some reason your attack deals 0 damage, the amplification won't trigger, so a 2nd damage instance never happens. It's like Cold Snap not triggering on Abaddon when he has ulti activated.
    So it doesn't trigger when attacking Templar with Refraction buff, since it makes the attack deal no damage and no damage=no trigger.

    Sticky Napalm works fine. It always gets triggered, doesn't matter how much damage the attack does or if it does damage at all, as long as the attack connects, it triggers.
    Please, just call me buny.

  5. #5
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    1,137
    If i remember correctly from when I tested this, they only dealt one instance in the Combat Log as well. Even if the "block means no amplification" is intended, it would still matter for Living Armor.

    But maybe I remember incorrectly. It's been a long time.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •