Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44

Thread: For the love of god, please implement caching!

  1. #21
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6,033
    Chrome, Firefox caching works fine I assume (sites loads fast when I hit F5; when I force comeplete reload, not from cache ctrl+F5 it loads long)
    Dota 2 client caching is not working. Site always loads long. (it loads considerably longer than ctrl+F5 on browser)
    James "2GD" Harding's career as a Dota 2 host on Valve events
    * 25.02.16 - 26.02.16
    Spoiler: 



  2. #22
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Quote Originally Posted by JayStelly View Post
    Thanks for the info. We are trying to reproduce this issue here so if any of you have more info it may be useful. So far caching is working properly when we follow the steps listed here so there is some other variable involved.
    Quoting a reddit comment about the issue found here

    The client opens the same pages, that you could visit with browser. That is the last blog post and the store

    On cold load, that is you've never opened the page, you will get 5-6 MB of data. On subsequential loads, the traffic will drop sub 0.5 MB as the images are cached. Yes, caching is indeed implemented and works.

    Source: http://imgur.com/a/MQdM1 (hint: bottom left corner)

    A fair criticism at this point is that the client is not your regular browser, so let investigate that then.

    Ok, JayStelly has pointed out in the dev thread that in steamapps/common/dota 2 beta/config/html is where the cache files are. Well, I don't have config/html and I am currently in the game client. Ouch!

    But wait, let not jump to conclusions. I used wireshark to catch all web traffic with only Dota 2 client running.

    Dota 2 does in fact cache, if you reload the shop it will not download the images again. However, if you reopen Dota 2, you will start with an empty cache, which means downloading everything again. I sat, refreshing the shop, and sometimes it would load only a small amount and some times all the data. That is 4 MB at the moment of testing.

    Source: http://imgur.com/a/4ixaZ

    It seem that the client is indeed not great at caching, which is not ideal for both Valve and customers.

  3. #23
    Basic Member igo95862's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    3,142
    I have no config folder in my dota 2 beta.

  4. #24
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    34
    Bump! +1 Priority Fix Please!

  5. #25
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    I guess this thread never received a response.

  6. #26
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    3
    I am just seeing this thread.. and i have a solution to this..
    i have been doing this for the past 1 year and it works great..
    Step1- go to C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc
    step2- open hosts file with notepad
    step3- add the following lines at the bottom
    127.0.0.1 blog.dota2.com
    127.0.0.1 dota2.com
    this will block only the dota 2 site.. remove the lines if you want to unblock...
    this is the most effective method...
    you can also block cdn.dota2.com as well
    Commend me if you like
    Last edited by maxteam; 11-28-2013 at 08:47 AM.

  7. #27
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6,033
    Quote Originally Posted by JayStelly View Post
    Caching is implemented. It was not enabled when this thread was originally created, but it is enabled and working now. The images are downloaded to your steamapps/common/dota 2 beta/config/html directory and cached there. How are you measuring data being downloaded? What makes you think it isn't working?
    I'm having this problem again: http://puu.sh/fqap1/f576f1ce37.png
    Each time I start my Dota 2 client it downloads a lot of stuff. I'd assume it is related to this.

    This is what my steamapps/common/dota 2 beta/dota/config/html directory directory looks like: http://puu.sh/fqbLB/97ab1006ae.png (sorted by newest to oldest)

    It downloads immediately after I start up the Dota 2 client. When I visit the shop etc. it takes a while for the things to appear so I assume it is a caching problem.
    James "2GD" Harding's career as a Dota 2 host on Valve events
    * 25.02.16 - 26.02.16
    Spoiler: 



  8. #28
    Basic Member aveyo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    EU West
    Posts
    2,927
    Quote Originally Posted by GermanViet View Post
    I'm having this problem again: http://puu.sh/fqap1/f576f1ce37.png
    Each time I start my Dota 2 client it downloads a lot of stuff. I'd assume it is related to this.

    This is what my steamapps/common/dota 2 beta/dota/config/html directory directory looks like: http://puu.sh/fqbLB/97ab1006ae.png (sorted by newest to oldest)

    It downloads immediately after I start up the Dota 2 client. When I visit the shop etc. it takes a while for the things to appear so I assume it is a caching problem.
    What is this trickery?! There is no config/html folder in my dota. It never was.
    Caching is done in ..\Steam\appcache\httpcache\
    But the issue you are referring to is this:
    Code:
    Request for  /steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/eb/xxx_medium.jpg,  required conditional validation, but is using cached data.
    Success!  http://cdn.akamai.steamstatic.com/steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/eb/xxx_medium.jpg
    Response for /steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/eb/xxx_medium.jpg can be cached? Yes.
    Computed freshness lifetime for  /steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/eb/xxx_medium.jpg  is 600
    Cached data found and deserialized for  /steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/03/xxx_medium.jpg
    Cached data for /steamcommunity/public/images/avatars/03/xxx_medium.jpg has exceeded freshness lifetime of 600, forcing validation
    That freshness lifetime of 600 or maybe less it's not just for friend's avatars. But caching DOES work.
    I have experimented with advanced Steam options with good results in a pursuit to limit Steam "noise" while playing Dota 2. Sadly, Steam's command line buffer is a laughable at 512 characters and most options are not working through steam.cfg. My new all-in-one tweaker will feature some of these findings. Hope it will be ready before the next event.

  9. #29
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6,033
    I guess they changed the folder.
    I found some files in ..\Steam\appcache\httpcache\

    As a test I deleted httpcache folder and started my Dota 2 client. Then I pressed nothing and waited. This is the result: http://puu.sh/frwNZ/926b6f9b8e.png
    Then I closed my Dota 2 client, opened it again and waited: http://puu.sh/frx3f/a0d22f13c1.png
    Each time some files were generated in httpcache folder.

    I'm not knowledgeable to judge so I let you do this. You have more experience than me.
    James "2GD" Harding's career as a Dota 2 host on Valve events
    * 25.02.16 - 26.02.16
    Spoiler: 



  10. #30
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    6,033
    I made a new measure today still having this problem.

    For reference this is me doing an update for Dota 2 (16.2MB big): http://puu.sh/g2rIz/0fd7b4b159.png
    Starting up Dota 2 first time today: http://puu.sh/g2rJs/70616bc7b4.png
    Restarting Dota 2: http://puu.sh/g2rKc/00515f6dcf.png
    Deleting httpcache folder and restarting: http://puu.sh/g2rL0/eb3a8fa520.png
    James "2GD" Harding's career as a Dota 2 host on Valve events
    * 25.02.16 - 26.02.16
    Spoiler: 



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •