Page 4 of 12 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 119

Thread: Dota 2 for Linux

  1. #31
    Quote Originally Posted by Zoid View Post
    nVidia GeForce 8600/9600GT, ATI/AMD Radeaon HD2600/3600 (Graphic Drivers: nVidia 310, AMD 12.11), OpenGL 2.1
    OpenAL Compatible Sound Card
    That part confuses me a bit. I have two systems. One modern Intel + NVIDIA system with latest closed-source drivers on Arch Linux which is probably the ideal case for Linux gaming when it comes to hardware support. The other system is my old 2007 laptop with NVIDIA 6150 Go GPU. I'm aware that it only is supported by the legacy branch of NVIDIAs drivers (304.88) and is only capable of OpenGL 2.1. This meant that I never could play any Source games like TF2 which require OpenGL 3.0 (which was first supported by the 8000 series and is the oldest generation still capable of using the new >310 driver branch).

    So theoretically I could at least launch Dota 2 on my old laptop? Why is the OpenGL requirement lower than for CSS or TF2?

  2. #32
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    7
    I LOVE YOU , MOTHER ******* ! :*

  3. #33
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    love you guys, thanks in advance fro bringin this.

  4. #34
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    16
    Why soo much RAM is needed
    Last edited by AsJ; 07-11-2013 at 01:14 AM.

  5. #35
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    15
    I can finnaly ditch windows, after all those years. Thanks !

  6. #36
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    20
    After all that time, FINALLY. Just wanted to say TY for bringing the only game I ever needed on linux. BB win-dos.

  7. #37
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28
    Hi!
    I have Ubuntu 12.04 64bit on Lenovo Z570. I downloaded Dota 2 Test for Linux and I ran the game with "primusrun %command%" parameter. While game is loading match I have black screen without Dota logo. After loading I have fallowing issue:
    2013-07-11_00001.jpg
    2013-07-11_00002.jpg
    When I had run the game with "optirun %command%" game didn't start and in terminal was segmentation fault error in dota2.sh script.
    Sorry for my English, I hope you understand that problems and fix it quickly.
    Last edited by jasiolpn; 07-11-2013 at 07:33 AM.

  8. #38
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Finally! I can't wait to help out and get rid of windows once and for all! Thank you!

  9. #39
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by jasiolpn View Post
    Hi!
    I ran the game with "primusrun %command%" parameter.
    Try starting steam with that command instead.
    As far as I know, games get their environment from the steam process.

    Seems you are running into this https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Dota-2/issues/54 , that bug references a previous primusrun bug with a workaround.
    Last edited by hirsute; 07-11-2013 at 09:41 AM.

  10. #40
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Ubuntu Dota2 test

    help pls
    d2.png

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •