Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 119

Thread: Dota 2 for Linux

  1. #41
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1
    Installed on Arch Linux with the Nvidia proprietary driver and performance seems good so far. Unfortunately, I consistently get a crash on the third tutorial (lane introduction) as soon as I attempt to level up one of my abilities.

  2. #42
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by hirsute View Post
    Try starting steam with that command instead.
    As far as I know, games get their environment from the steam process.
    Unfortunately this changes nothing, but I saw that Rendering Quality bar in options is set to 0 each time I run the game. So I set it to max and I have another problem with fog of war:
    2013-07-11_00003.jpg

  3. #43
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by jasiolpn View Post
    Unfortunately this changes nothing, but I saw that Rendering Quality bar in options is set to 0 each time I run the game. So I set it to max and I have another problem with fog of war:
    2013-07-11_00003.jpg
    yeah it seems fog of war (and some other stuff) is broken on nvidia https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Dota-2/issues/36

    also, I initially had a similar issue with the game rendering almost nothing (though not completly black like you had), it turned out that changing any graphic option would "fix" it for the current game.

  4. #44
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3
    Before the update I had the same graphics issues. However, after the update the client says that the versio is out of date so I cannot create a lobby. If I start a game with bots, I see nothing but green circles and a gradient instead of the whole map. I can provide additional information if needed.

  5. #45
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    95
    Quote Originally Posted by tyakos View Post
    Before the update I had the same graphics issues. However, after the update the client says that the versio is out of date so I cannot create a lobby. If I start a game with bots, I see nothing but green circles and a gradient instead of the whole map. I can provide additional information if needed.
    There was an update (22 mb I guess). http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=97157
    Here is what I see:
    2013-07-11_00002.jpg

  6. #46
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    109
    Quote Originally Posted by lifestyle View Post
    There was an update (22 mb I guess). http://dev.dota2.com/showthread.php?t=97157
    Here is what I see:
    2013-07-11_00002.jpg
    try changing some graphic option during a game. (afaik any of them works)

    edit : ran some tests I think this problem happens at map launch when you have "Render Quality" set all the way to the left at 50%.
    Last edited by hirsute; 07-11-2013 at 01:40 PM.

  7. #47
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3
    try changing some graphic option during a game. (afaik any of them works)
    Thanks, that worked.

    Anyways, the graphics problems as in the post above still exist.

  8. #48
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Yo friends,
    I'm sorry if this problem has been already reported, I took a look at this topic and found in-game problems, but I have a problem in the start screen:
    1. http://s19.postimg.org/l5un4gk3n/Cap...1_23_23_29.png
    2. http://s19.postimg.org/3tuaj0qmb/Cap...1_23_28_07.png
    I'm completely lost with this menus, because I never played Dota before.
    This problem is known? There is already a 'workaround' to solve this?
    Sorry for bad english, thank you!

  9. #49
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    109
    I'll guess you're using open source drivers and encountering https://github.com/ValveSoftware/Dota-2/issues/38

  10. #50
    Basic Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    2
    Yes, I'm using open source drivers. I'll watch this issue.
    Thanks for your reply!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •